Find the answer to your Linux question:
First off, I am an intern for a large company, and I have a project that I would like to be successful at, but I ran into a roadblock and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!
    Washington(home), Montana(school), California(internship)

How to send file to external server

First off, I am an intern for a large company, and I have a project that I would like to be successful at, but I ran into a roadblock and want to know if anyone has any ideas.

Very simply my project is this:
    1) Gather information from a remote linux server
    - This will be a script that will be installed on the remote server that runs as a cron job to gather certain information about the users environment
    2) Send the information to our in-house linux mail server (this is what I need help with)
    3) Do some processing on the sent data

So I started off, and right away assumed I would send this information using 'sendmail' through the linux command line, but today I found out that our remote servers do not have 'sendmail'. The servers are running a linux shell, but I believe it is a in-house product. It would be a possibility to get 'sendmail' installed, but due to the size and nature of the project, it would probably be a year or two before that would actually happen, and I would like to have something to show before my internship ends.
    Does anyone have any suggestions, or know a very basic way to send information to a server out of the network?
    I am wondering if this is possible with SMTP using a very stripped down package that has nothing but the ability to send a packet.

Feel free to suggest any ideas! Obviously the more detail you can give, the better, but I am not afraid to do research and get my hands dirty if you can give me even some general pointers.

Thanks everyone! I look forward to becoming active in this community!

tpl
    Linux User
    > send info to server