Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello! I am unable to access my server via my linux computer. I am able to go to my server via https in windows using chrome and internet explorer, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    18

    Can not access HTTPS


    Hello!

    I am unable to access my server via my linux computer. I am able to go to my server via https in windows using chrome and internet explorer, but in linux(Ubuntu 9.04) it will only say web site not found. I am able to access the router's interface page via http. Any suggestions?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast meton_magis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    699
    what browser are you using, what are the URLS you are trying, and what is the exact error message you're getting (if you can get an HTTP error, like a 404, it would narrow it down greatly.)

    Also, are you dual booting on 1 PC, or using 2 different PCs on the same network?

    and welcome to the forums
    New to the internet, technical forums, or the hacker / open source community??
    Read this to learn good posting habits http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    RHCE for RHEL version 5
    RHCT for RHEL version 4

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    18
    First a little bit of background since I did not provide enough information. I am trying to access one of two servers I have running(TES Platform, linux based). The reason I have two is because I am hanging out in the middle of Afghanistan and running two different lines of services off of a Bentley-Walker satellite. One server for each line, then running into a wireless router. The servers are there for bandwidth management and web-cache features. I have no problems accessing the first server ip: 192.168.1.1 but it is the second one with ip 192.168.1.0 The software can assign any ip address to the server, so changing them is not a problem.

    what browser are you using, what are the URLS you are trying, and what is the exact error message you're getting (if you can get an HTTP error, like a 404, it would narrow it down greatly.)

    I am using Firefox as the browser
    I am attempting to access my TES Platform server. "https://192.168.1.0:2244" and "https://192.168.1.1:2244"
    Error message: Failed to Connect. Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at "https://192.168.1.0:2244"


    Also, are you dual booting on 1 PC, or using 2 different PCs on the same network?


    Dual Booting

    and welcome to the forums

    Thanks!

    Also, after doing a little bit of thinking last night, I hooked back up the 192.168.1.1 server and the computer can access it just fine in both linux and vista. So I changed the IP of the 192.168.1.0 to 192.168.1.50 and linux will then connect to it. Would you happen to know the cause of this?

    The help is as always MUCH appreciated

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast meton_magis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    699
    192.168.1.0 is not a valid ip address.

    192 prefix is designated as a class C address (subnetmask of 255.255.255.0, but the last octet can change.) at no time is a *.0 a valid IP address in a class C or smaller network.

    182.168.1.1-254 are all valid though, any one of these (so long as they aren't assigned to 2 servers at once) can be used, and are considered on the same network (logicaly, physicaly it would depend on network cabling and routers chopping it up.)

    for more info, I'd google (or wikipedia, that will probably be easier) IPV4, and subnet. both are good reads.
    New to the internet, technical forums, or the hacker / open source community??
    Read this to learn good posting habits http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    RHCE for RHEL version 5
    RHCT for RHEL version 4

  5. #5
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    anything that ends with .0 is not a usable IP

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast meton_magis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    arizona
    Posts
    699
    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    anything that ends with .0 is not a usable IP
    not true. No class C network (or network with more then 24 bits for the network mask) can have .0, true, but a class A or B (or anything with less than 24 bits) will have several valid .0 addresses.

    IPv4 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    New to the internet, technical forums, or the hacker / open source community??
    Read this to learn good posting habits http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

    RHCE for RHEL version 5
    RHCT for RHEL version 4

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    18
    Well thanks a lot for the IP address 101 guys, I cant believe I let that one slip. Thanks!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •