Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello My question is how will i remote the pc having an Internal IP address for exmaple 192.168.1.100 then other computer is in outside connection for example i used live ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy How to remote internal IP from Live IP


    Hello

    My question is how will i remote the pc having an Internal IP address for exmaple 192.168.1.100 then other computer is in outside connection for example i used live ip address 210.xx.xx.xx

    is there solutions for my questions


    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    You will need to log into your router and tell it to send all traffic coming in on the required port to forward packets to the PC. This is known as port forwarding but some routers call it virtual servers

    Alternatively you could place your PC in the DMZ using the router settings again, but this will mean the PC wouldn't be protected by the firewall on the router and so would be more venerable to attacks
    Linux User #453176

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Kieren View Post
    You will need to log into your router and tell it to send all traffic coming in on the required port to forward packets to the PC. This is known as port forwarding but some routers call it virtual servers

    Alternatively you could place your PC in the DMZ using the router settings again, but this will mean the PC wouldn't be protected by the firewall on the router and so would be more venerable to attacks
    Thanks for your reply

    I am using linux as my router and i have a firewall

    if your talking about router device, how would i know set in my linux to open the port forwarding or DMZ...

    do you have any tutorials?


    Thanks

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Have you set up your Linux router using iptables or an application?
    Linux User #453176

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by Kieren View Post
    Have you set up your Linux router using iptables or an application?
    I used firestarter and webmin to manage my gui and i think the iptables is enable but i dont know to configure it.


    do you have any first step?


    thanks

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    I have never used Webmin to manage Firestarter but to set up port forwarding using the main program you need to use the "Forward service" section of the "Policy tab" as described in The policy page - Firestarter

    The main idea here is to tell your firewall to forward any traffic that comes in on the port that your remote desktop software uses to the correct internal computer
    Linux User #453176

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •