Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am relatively new to linux, though I have worked with computer many years starting with DOS and up. I am having an issue with getting my linux test servers ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cool DNS resolution issues

I am relatively new to linux, though I have worked with computer many years starting with DOS and up.

I am having an issue with getting my linux test servers to reach the outside world. I have servers set of with PClinux, CentOS, and Ubuntu. Currently the issue is with the CentOS box. I have set up my onboard NIC with the LAN TCP/IP parameters ans well as the DNS Server addresses through the GUI. I have verified that they are correct but I cannot access a URL through a browser (Firefox). From a Terminal window I can PING an external site via both its IP address AND its URL. In other words, I can PING 174.132.123.98 AND linuxforums.org sucessfully. However, if I open up a browser I can only access the same web site with the IP address and NOT the URL.

Here is my question; where can I find a reference of Terminal commands whereby I can test the various aspects of the TCP/IP stack and manually configure my NICs using command line commands instead of using the GUI which does not want to play nice.

Just Joined!
    The basic tool for looking at tcp traffic is tcpdump. You can also try ethereal or it's successor, Wireshark. Just for giggles, I also usually install etherape, but just because I like the graphics.

Basic tools for DNS stuff include netstat, nslookup, and dig. Other tools to look at are dnswalk, nlslint, and dnsadmin.

Just Joined!
    Thank you for your assistance

Is there a proxy server that you need to add to your web app? Reason I ask is because you stated that you can ping the site by both ip and url which tells me that DNS is working. Things I would be looking at are proxy and/or firewall.

Regards
    Robert

Linux