Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I get Internet by a router DSL-504G a 128kb. I have installed Linux with Debian 3.0 Woody and Sarge, in case the unstable version could resolve the problem. Each one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14

    ┐How do i know if the modem is well configured/installed?


    I get Internet by a router DSL-504G a 128kb. I have installed Linux with Debian 3.0 Woody and Sarge, in case the unstable version could resolve the problem. Each one is in different partition of the disk.
    When I execute #scanmodem i get the following:

    UPDATE=2004_Oct_10
    Providing detail for device at PCI_bus 00:14.0
    with vendor-ID:device-ID
    ----:----
    Class 0780: 14f1:2013 Communication controller: Conexant HSF 56k Data/Fax Modem (rev 01)
    SubSystem 1092:0b22 Diamond Multimedia Systems: Unknown device 0b22
    Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 64, IRQ 10
    Memory at e8100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
    I/O ports at e000

    Does it mean that the modem is perfectly installed?
    No, what else do I have to do?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    not sure how you actually connect. Your scanmodem shows a PCI card modem (if this is how you connect -via a dial up modem - then check out the second post here - http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-3100.html )

    If, however, you conect via something other than a dial-up modem then can you tell me what/how.

    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14
    I connect by dsl. I have the router connected to the phone line. But i want to use the pc with the modem so this pc will be the router. I hope that answer the question.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    sorry, I'm being a bit thick here.

    I think that this is how you are connected -

    PC ---(USB or Ethernet)------ dsl router ----- ISP -- Internet

    but you seem also to want to connect by

    PC ---- PCI card internal modem ----- dialup ---- ISP - Internet

    which is is it ? Or is it both, with the same PC have both a dsl and a dial up connection?

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    14
    Yes,

    I had
    PC ---(Ethernet)------ dsl router ----- ISP -- Internet

    and

    This is the one i want to have.
    PC ------- PCI card internal modem ----- dialup ---- ISP - Internet
    (Debian)

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    4
    If you are using PPPoE to connect to your ISP, download Roaring Pengiun rp-pppoe and install it. Then run the setup script again and it should all be working.

    You must make sure that you don't have any connections set for your 504G router. What I do in South Africa (have to otherwise it doesn't work as our telco have a very strict way of connecting to ADSL - they wanted to make only their Marconi modems work ) to get the D-Link modems and Routers working without problems is reset it to the default D-Link config, change the IP of the router (from 10.1.1.1) to a class c network used by your Linux box you want as server, install rp-pppoe on the Linux box, config rp-pppoe and then connect. This all takes about 10 min to get it working...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •