Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, I'm trying to use the internet from a LaCie network attached storage device (NAS), but names are not resolved: Code: HAL /root # ping uva.nl ping: uva.nl: Host name ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323

    [SOLVED] Names are not resolved


    Hi,

    I'm trying to use the internet from a LaCie network attached storage device (NAS), but names are not resolved:

    Code:
    HAL /root # ping uva.nl
    ping: uva.nl: Host name lookup failure
    From my Windows XP desktop it works just fine:

    Code:
    Daan@PC-ML ~
    $ ping uva.nl
    
    Pingen naar uva.nl [145.18.68.50] met 32 byte gegevens:
    
    Antwoord van 145.18.68.50: bytes=32 tijd=9 ms TTL=245
    Antwoord van 145.18.68.50: bytes=32 tijd=11 ms TTL=245
    Antwoord van 145.18.68.50: bytes=32 tijd=8 ms TTL=245
    Antwoord van 145.18.68.50: bytes=32 tijd=10 ms TTL=245
    
    Ping-statistieken voor 145.18.68.50:
        Pakketten: verzonden = 4, ontvangen = 4, verloren = 0
        (0% verlies).De gemiddelde tijd voor het uitvoeren van één bewerking in milliseconden:
        Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 11ms, Gemiddelde = 9ms
    Pinging using the ip address works from from the NAS:

    Code:
    HAL /root # ping 145.18.68.50
    PING 145.18.68.50 (145.18.68.50): 56 data bytes
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=0 ttl=245 time=11.4 ms
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=1 ttl=245 time=8.6 ms
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=2 ttl=245 time=9.9 ms
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=3 ttl=245 time=8.0 ms
    
    --- 145.18.68.50 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 8.0/9.4/11.4 ms
    Checking the network settings on the NAS gives:

    Code:
    HAL /root # ifconfig egiga0
    egiga0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:D0:4B:86:23:B0
              inet addr:192.168.1.105  Bcast:255.255.255.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:828 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:627 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:128
              RX bytes:84146 (82.1 KiB)  TX bytes:77376 (75.5 KiB)
              Interrupt:21
    
    HAL /root # /usr/bin/edmini.sh network get dns egiga0
    DNS=( 212.54.40.25 212.54.35.25 )
    The NAS got these settings from my router, which acts as DHCP server. The DNS servers on the NAS are the same as on my XP machine:

    Code:
    Daan@PC-ML ~
    $ ipconfig /all
    
    Windows IP-configuratie
    
            Host-naam  . . . . . . . . . . . .: PC-ML
            Primair DNS-achtervoegsel. . . . .:
            Knooppunttype: . . . . . . . . . .: onbekend
            IP-routering ingeschakeld. . . . .: nee
            WINS-proxy ingeschakeld . . . . . : nee
    
    Ethernet-adapter LAN-verbinding:
    
            Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
            Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . .:
              Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC
            Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-22-15-D5-1E-C8
            DHCP ingeshakeld. . . . . . . . . : ja
            Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld. : ja
            IP-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
            Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
            Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
            DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
            DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.54.40.25
                                                212.54.35.25
            Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . : woensdag 7 oktober 2009 19:58:05
            Lease verlopen . . . . . . . . .  : vrijdag 9 oktober 2009 19:58:05
    How do I get my NAS to resolve names?
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Quote Originally Posted by Daan View Post
    The NAS got these settings from my router, which acts as DHCP server. The DNS servers on the NAS are the same as on my XP machine

    1. How are you checking this?
    2. Is there a firewall between the NAS and the DNS Server?
    3. Can you ping the DNS servers from the NAS?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    Thanks for your help, Lazydog.

    1. I configured the router to be a DHCP server. And I set the NAS to get settings from via DHCP (using the LaCie Network Assistant). The command I use to check the DHCP servers for the NAS is a bash script written by LaCie.

    2. The router is between the NAS and the internet with DNS servers, but I have the firewall option on the router disabled.

    3. Yes.

    Edit: "I have the firewall option on the NS disabled" -> "I have the firewall option on the router disabled"
    Last edited by Daan; 10-08-2009 at 02:13 PM.
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    OK, you can ping the DNS servers. Can you post the output from the following command run on the NAS server;

    Code:
    dig  uva.nl
    Can you post resolv.conf?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  6. #5
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    Here's the resolv.conf on the NAS. I tried something straight away but it did not help.

    Code:
    HAL /root # cat /etc/resolv.conf
    search lan
    nameserver 192.168.2.254
    nameserver 192.168.10.1
    nameserver 192.168.0.1
    nameserver 212.54.40.25
    nameserver 212.54.35.25
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    HAL /root # echo "nameserver 212.54.40.25" >> /etc/resolv.conf
    HAL /root # echo "nameserver 212.54.35.25" >> /etc/resolv.conf
    HAL /root # ping uva.nl
    ping: uva.nl: Host name lookup failure
    HAL /root # ping google.com
    ping: google.com: Host name lookup failure
    HAL /root # ping 145.18.68.50           # uva.nl's ip
    PING 145.18.68.50 (145.18.68.50): 56 data bytes
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=0 ttl=245 time=11.0 ms
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=1 ttl=245 time=7.3 ms
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=2 ttl=245 time=9.4 ms
    
    --- 145.18.68.50 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 7.3/9.2/11.0 ms
    HAL /root # ping 74.125.127.100       # google.com's ip
    PING 74.125.127.100 (74.125.127.100): 56 data bytes
    72 bytes from 74.125.127.100: icmp_seq=0 ttl=50 time=174.1 ms
    72 bytes from 74.125.127.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=50 time=170.2 ms
    72 bytes from 74.125.127.100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=50 time=164.7 ms
    
    --- 74.125.127.100 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 164.7/169.6/174.1 ms
    The dig command is not available on the NAS (which is at my home), but it is at my Linux computer at work:

    Code:
    daan@pecularia:~$ dig uva.nl
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.5.1-P3 <<>> uva.nl
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27622
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;uva.nl.				IN	A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    uva.nl.			19908	IN	A	145.18.68.50
    
    ;; Query time: 0 msec
    ;; SERVER: 10.116.37.10#53(10.116.37.10)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Oct  9 10:57:25 2009
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 40
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    You I have noticed the following from your post.


    1. You linux computer is work and it is using a different DNS Server then your NAS.
    2. There are too many nameservers in your reslov.conf.


    Here is what I would do.

    Remove the first 3 DNS servers from the resolv.conf and then test again.
    I am suspecting that the sever you have listed are not working, i.e.;

    nameserver 192.168.2.254
    nameserver 192.168.10.1
    nameserver 192.168.0.1

    You can test these from your Linux desktop with;

    Code:
    dig @NAS-DNS google.com
    Replacing NAS-DNS with the ip addresses above.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  8. #7
    Linux User Daan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    323
    Code:
    HAL /etc # cat resolv.conf
    search lan
    nameserver 212.54.40.25
    nameserver 212.54.35.25
    
    HAL /etc # ping uva.nl
    PING uva.nl (145.18.68.50): 56 data bytes
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=0 ttl=245 time=7.8 ms
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=1 ttl=245 time=10.1 ms
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=2 ttl=245 time=7.7 ms
    84 bytes from 145.18.68.50: icmp_seq=3 ttl=245 time=10.3 ms
    
    --- uva.nl ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 7.7/8.9/10.3 ms
    Thanks a lot Robert!
    OS's I use: Debian testing, Debian stable, Ubuntu, OpenSuse 12.1, Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •