Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hope i worded that correctly.. basically the situation is this: i have a working samba share, it been working for some time...however when i hooked up a new router to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

router preventing samba share from reaching higher subnet

hope i worded that correctly..
    basically the situation is this:
    i have a working samba share, it been working for some time...however when i hooked up a new router to the old router, people connected to the first router cannot connect to my samba share.

here is a diagram:
    Code:
    (modem)---(10.0.0.1)-┐--(192.168.1.1)---(my computer with the sama share)
                         ├(friends computer)
                         └(other friends computer)
    no ones connected to 10.0.0.1 can't access my server at 192.168.1.100

is there a real need for 2 routers? You could try adding a route to the 192.168.1 subnet via 10.0.0.1 on the clients.

Just Joined!
    hm?
    the two routers issue is more or less geographical. i needed to connect my 2 friends computers, my computer, and sadly...their xbox 360 to the network...which happen to all be spread out as far as humanly possible from the router.
    as for adding a route to 192.168.1 subnet...im not sure how to do that (also note...im the only linux system here)

So you are all in the same location? Why not just use the 10.0.0.1 router for its switch ports instead of plugging into WAN? Or if you can afford it, a small 4 or 8 port switch is fairly cheap these days. Multiple subnets just gets overly complicated for home networking...