Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I am running Ubuntu 9.10 in a Virtual machine and cannot connect to to Windows 7 host, it says "Cannot retrieve the server list"...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! mpg198's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    86

    VMWare connect to host


    I am running Ubuntu 9.10 in a Virtual machine and cannot connect to to Windows 7 host, it says "Cannot retrieve the server list"

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    What are you trying to do?

  3. #3
    Just Joined! mpg198's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    86
    I need to connect to the host from the guest via samba

  4. #4
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    is the network configured properly on the guest?

  5. #5
    Just Joined! mpg198's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    86
    It should be, my Laptop runs Ubuntu as the host and it connects with out changing any settings...

  6. #6
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    have you installed smbclient package? (I think that is what it is called on ubuntu)

    It is possible that windows 7 uses a newer version of the protocol than samba supports, but I can't be positive about this.

    You can always try mounting it manually using mount command

    Code:
    mount -t cifs -o username=<user>,password=<pass> //computer/share /path/to/mountpoint

  7. #7
    Just Joined! mpg198's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    86
    Ubuntu should have it by default. I have the newest Ubuntu. Should I uninstall smbclient and then install it from the repositores? The problem is my Ubuntu's internet is really slow.

    Edit: I tried mounting it but the folder appears empty. However the free space reported is accurate (the same amount that's free on the drive on the host)
    Edit2: Okay I tried another share and it worked, but it's not working for my other share...
    Edit3: Okay that share has NTFS partitions set and logging in as a guest will make nothing show (I gave everyone permissions as a test and removed them when done).

    Fedora mounts it fine, but Ubuntu still only had read only when I enter the password.

    Also is there a way to make the command prompt for a password instead of typing it in in plain text where anyone who sees my screen can see it?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3
    hmm what version and type of vmware are you running? workstation,server (1 or 2)

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by zero_1984 View Post
    hmm what version and type of vmware are you running? workstation,server (1 or 2)

    did you try apt-get samba install, in Ubuntu.

  10. #10
    Just Joined! mpg198's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    86
    VMWare Server 2.

    Samba should be included by default in Ubuntu though...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •