Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All We have just recently started to use Linux @ work, and being a complete newbie, I installed RH9 on a spare machine @ home (so if i trash ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cannot Activate Ethernet under RH9

Hi All

We have just recently started to use Linux @ work, and being a complete newbie, I installed RH9 on a spare machine @ home (so if i trash it i wouldn't get fired)!!!

I have an Ageing NE2000 Clone (NetVin NV5000SC) ethernet card. The card is recognised fine with RH9 I just cannot activate it. I Have tried the card in my Win XP machine and the card works fine.

I am trying to set it up to use DCHP from my Netgear Router (DG834) so i can share files with my Win XP machine and as a Download manager.

When i try to activate it i get an error message saying "Detemining IP information for Eth0.....failed". This is from the Network Configuration Tool in KDE.

lsmod reports;

ie2k-pci 7232 1 [ne2k-pci]
    8390 8508 0 (autoclean)

ifconfig shows the device as being present

If you need more info - just post

Many Thanks

mftp

try activating it manually from the command line:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    and if it doesn't return any output, then it worked. if it does work, but it doesn't give you an IP address then:
    Code:
    dhclient eth0

Just Joined!
    hi lakerdonald

Thanks for replying so quickly.

i have tried what you suggested;

Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    gave no error messages

and
    Code:
    dhclient eth0
    exited with
    No DCHPOFFERS recieved

The Card has both a 10baseT RJ45 connector and a BNC style Coax connector, is it possible that Linux is trying to use the Coax socket and not the 10baseT?

And if so, do you know how i can force it to swap?

Many Thanks

Mftp

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    i assume that your LAN is set up with 192.168.blah.blah?