Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi I posted it on another forum, but could not get response,So I have this cenOS, Ubuntu and windows operating system running on virtual machines. Now I gave them manual ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3

    CentOS-5 server cannot ping the default gateway


    Hi
    I posted it on another forum, but could not get response,So

    I have this cenOS, Ubuntu and windows operating system running on virtual machines.

    Now I gave them manual ip address, both ubuntu and windows machines can ping the default gateway, but not the CentOS.

    Here is the output of


    ifconfig eth0

    eth0 --- Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:17:0d:e6
    ------- -- inet addr:192.168.5.3 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    --------- inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe17:de6/64 Scope:Link
    --------- UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1


    route -n command here is the output

    Destination ------- Gateway --------- Genmask ------- Flags--- Metric-- Ref --- Use --- Iface
    192.168.5.0 ------ 0.0.0.0 --------- 255.255.255.0 ----- U ---- 0 ----- 0 --- 0 ---eth0
    169.254.0.0 ------- 0.0.0.0 ---------- 255.255.0.0 ------ U ---- 0-- 0 ---- 0 ---eth0
    0.0.0.0 ------------ 192.168.5.254------- 0.0.0.0 ----------- UG ---- 0 --- 0 ----- 0 ---eth0






    It should forward 0.0.0.0. to my cisco router address(192.168.5.254),

    Now it does not ping.

    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,411
    - All three VMs are in bridge mode?
    - All three VMs have different IPs?
    - All three VMs are in the same net 192.168.5.0/24?
    - Is there a firewall on the redhat VM?
    - Is there a firewall on the machine, that hosts the VMs?
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks a lot for ur reply.

    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    - All three VMs are in bridge mode?
    - All three VMs have different IPs?
    - All three VMs are in the same net 192.168.5.0/24?
    Ya These three I have checked.
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    - Is there a firewall on the redhat VM?
    How do I check this one? Or may be disable it to check if the problem is the firewall?
    How do I do that?
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    -
    - Is there a firewall on the machine, that hosts the VMs?
    Not on this one.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,411
    as root
    iptables -L -n
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  6. #5
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,411
    Hmm,
    what is the NIC presented to the redhat VM?
    Please choose intel desktop or intel server NIC, if you have the chance.

    This one I dont actually know, if it is indeed a problem, but might be worth a try:
    Can you please disable selinux, if you dont need it?

    in /etc/selinux/config
    search for SELINUX and set it to
    SELINUX=disabled

    Then reboot
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •