Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am pretty new to linux networking. Now I am trying to set up a very simple three-machine network, with the following topology: dst (eth0) --- (eth1) router (eth0) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ubuntu subnetting problem

Hi,

I am pretty new to linux networking. Now I am trying to set up a very simple three-machine network, with the following topology:

dst (eth0) --- (eth1) router (eth0) --- (eth0) src

where:
    -- dst (eth0) is configured 192.168.0.25
    -- (eth1) router is configured 192.168.0.9
    -- router (eth0) is configured 10.10.10.16
    -- (eth0) src is configured 10.10.10.19

1) I configured the IPs as follows:

-- for dst, edit /etc/network/interfaces:

auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.0.25
    netmask 255.255.255.0

-- for router, edit /etc/network/interfaces:

auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 10.10.10.16
    netmask 255.255.255.0

auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet static
    address 192.168.0.9
    netmask 255.255.255.0

-- for src, edit /etc/network/interfaces:
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 10.10.0.19
    netmask 255.255.255.0

Then I ran /etc/init.d/networking restart on all machines.

And I added

route add default gw 10.10.10.16

on the src machine.

2) I enable the forwarding capability on "router", by:
    echo "1" > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

3) But then, the src can only ping router, and dst can only ping router. Src cannot ping dst.

When I ran "arp -a" on src, I saw the entry for dst (192.168.0.25) is "incomplete". So I added that entry by "arp -s". Then src can ping dst now.

But I don't know why ARP cannot automatically do this?

4) When I tried to also add an ARP entry on dst for src, by using "arp -s", it said: "network unreachable".

I wonder why dst failed while src succeeded? And since src can ping dst, doesn't it mean dst can also return an ICMP reply to src?