Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
Could you post your /etc/resolv.conf?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux User Manko10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    250

    Could you post your /etc/resolv.conf?

  2. #22
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    28
    Here it is;

    # Generated by dhcpcd from eth0
    # /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    # /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line

  3. #23
    Linux User Manko10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    250
    Looks great so far.
    What happens if you replace this nameserver with 8.8.8.8 manually (which is the Google DNS)?

  4. #24
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Manko10 View Post
    Could you post your /etc/resolv.conf?
    Quote Originally Posted by Manko10 View Post
    Looks great so far.
    What happens if you replace this nameserver with 8.8.8.8 manually (which is the Google DNS)?
    This does not solve problem.

  5. #25
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Quote Originally Posted by jamesl22
    Could this problem actually be in libc?
    No, this sounds like a networking issue.

    You're being fed the local nameserver (192.168.1.1) only. That's of no use.

    Put this in your /etc/resolv.conf:
    Code:
    nameserver 208.67.222.220
    nameserver 208.67.220.222
    Those are the openDNS DNS servers.

    Does that work?
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  6. #26
    Linux User Manko10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    250
    192.168.1.1 should be his router which acts as DNS server. I've already prompted him to try 8.8.8.8 but that didn't work either so openDNS shouldn't bring any improvement.

  7. #27
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by Manko10 View Post
    192.168.1.1 should be his router which acts as DNS server. I've already prompted him to try 8.8.8.8 but that didn't work either so openDNS shouldn't bring any improvement.
    Yes my router at 192.168.1.1 acts as a dns server. I know this must be working as my ubuntu box resolves domains from there also.

  8. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    28
    Ok now I'm really confused. The command "host" successfully resolves all domain names I can throw at it. However, applications like wget and dillo just cant!?

  9. #29
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    28
    Does anyone know how to fix This because it is really irritating.

    So here is the contents and outputs of all relevant things:
    resolv.conf:
    Code:
    # Generated by dhcpcd from eth0
    # /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
    nameserver 192.168.1.1
    # /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
    nsswitch.conf:
    Code:
    passwd: files
    groups: files
    
    hosts: dns files
    networks: files
    host google.com:
    Code:
    google.com        A        173.194.36.104
    ping google.com:
    Code:
    ping: google.com: Resolver Error 0 (no error)
    wget google.com:
    Code:
    --2010-10-02 20:53:44-- http://google.com/
    Resolving google.com... failed: No address associated with hostname.
    wget: unable to resolve host address 'google.com'
    Last edited by jamesl22; 10-02-2010 at 08:56 PM.

  10. #30
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    28
    No solutions?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •