Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I'm having a small issue with my ethernet (Intel Pro 100) It is perfectly initialized on booting into Fedora Core 3 and works just fine for any user. However, whenever ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    7

    Ethernet card not working when logging out/in


    I'm having a small issue with my ethernet (Intel Pro 100)
    It is perfectly initialized on booting into Fedora Core 3 and works just fine for any user.
    However, whenever i log out and log back in (on the same user or on another)
    the ethernet is not recognized anymore
    I have to reboot to get it working again.
    There must be a a very easy tweak to this but i haven't found it on any threads previously posted.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That sounds extremely weird to me. I can't even begin to phathom what could make a logout affect the status of an ethernet card.

    In either case, can you gather the output of the following commands both when it works and when it doesn't, and then post it back?
    Code:
    ip link ls
    ip addr ls

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    7
    ok, here's exactly what i did:

    -machine bootup
    -logged on "user 1"
    -internet/network works perfectly
    -here's the output to your suggested commands when everything works:

    Code:
    [root@localhost ~]# ip link ls
    1&#58; lo&#58; <LOOPBACK,UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue
        link/loopback 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00 brd 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00
    2&#58; eth0&#58; <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
        link/ether 00&#58;a0&#58;c9&#58;89&#58;ab&#58;8b brd ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff
    3&#58; sit0&#58; <NOARP> mtu 1480 qdisc noop
        link/sit 0.0.0.0 brd 0.0.0.0
    &#91;root@localhost ~&#93;# ip addr ls
    1&#58; lo&#58; <LOOPBACK,UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue
        link/loopback 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00 brd 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00
        inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
        inet6 &#58;&#58;1/128 scope host
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    2&#58; eth0&#58; <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
        link/ether 00&#58;a0&#58;c9&#58;89&#58;ab&#58;8b brd ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff
        inet 192.168.0.101/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global eth0
        inet6 fe80&#58;&#58;2a0&#58;c9ff&#58;fe89&#58;ab8b/64 scope link
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    3&#58; sit0&#58; <NOARP> mtu 1480 qdisc noop
        link/sit 0.0.0.0 brd 0.0.0.0
    -next i logged out of "user 1"
    -logged again into "user 1"
    -no internet or network available, tried reactivating eth0 using:
    Code:
    ifup eth0
    that failed.
    did your commands
    Code:
    &#91;root@localhost ~&#93;# ip link ls
    1&#58; lo&#58; <LOOPBACK,UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue
        link/loopback 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00 brd 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00
    2&#58; eth0&#58; <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
        link/ether 00&#58;a0&#58;c9&#58;89&#58;ab&#58;8b brd ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff
    3&#58; sit0&#58; <NOARP> mtu 1480 qdisc noop
        link/sit 0.0.0.0 brd 0.0.0.0
    &#91;root@localhost ~&#93;# ip addr ls
    1&#58; lo&#58; <LOOPBACK,UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue
        link/loopback 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00 brd 00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00&#58;00
        inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
        inet6 &#58;&#58;1/128 scope host
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    2&#58; eth0&#58; <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
        link/ether 00&#58;a0&#58;c9&#58;89&#58;ab&#58;8b brd ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff&#58;ff
        inet 192.168.0.101/24 brd 192.168.0.255 scope global eth0
        inet6 fe80&#58;&#58;2a0&#58;c9ff&#58;fe89&#58;ab8b/64 scope link
           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    3&#58; sit0&#58; <NOARP> mtu 1480 qdisc noop
        link/sit 0.0.0.0 brd 0.0.0.0

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That's quite weird, because nothing actually looks wrong so far. eth0 is still up and running and has the proper addresses. It seems the problem is elsewhere.

    When it doesn't work, can you try these commands, and post their output?
    Code:
    traceroute -n dolda2000.com
    traceroute -n 82.182.133.20
    You only need to run the second if the first doesn't work.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    7
    hostname not found

    i can't even communicate with my router

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    So how did the second one (traceroute -n 82.182.133.20) work out?
    If you don't even get one reply from it, please supply the output of these as well:
    Code:
    ip route ls
    dmesg | tail

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    7
    here it is:

    Code:
    &#91;root@localhost ~&#93;# traceroute -n dolda2000.com
    traceroute&#58; unknown host dolda2000.com
    &#91;root@localhost ~&#93;# traceroute -n 82.182.133.20
    traceroute to 82.182.133.20 &#40;82.182.133.20&#41;, 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
     1  192.168.0.101  840.344 ms !H  3000.078 ms !H  3000.161 ms !H
    &#91;root@localhost ~&#93;# ip route ls
    192.168.0.0/24 dev eth0  proto kernel  scope link  src 192.168.0.101
    169.254.0.0/16 dev eth0  scope link
    default via 192.168.0.1 dev eth0
    &#91;root@localhost ~&#93;# dmesg | tail
    handlers&#58;
    &#91;<128423b5>&#93; &#40;e100_intr+0x0/0xea &#91;e100&#93;&#41;
    Disabling IRQ #11
    agpgart&#58; Found an AGP 1.0 compliant device at 0000&#58;00&#58;00.0.
    agpgart&#58; Putting AGP V2 device at 0000&#58;00&#58;00.0 into 1x mode
    agpgart&#58; Putting AGP V2 device at 0000&#58;01&#58;00.0 into 1x mode
    NETDEV WATCHDOG&#58; eth0&#58; transmit timed out
    e100&#58; eth0&#58; e100_watchdog&#58; link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    NETDEV WATCHDOG&#58; eth0&#58; transmit timed out
    e100&#58; eth0&#58; e100_watchdog&#58; link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    what does pinging your router do?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Something is seriously wrong. The dmesg displays a backtrace from the kernel, which indicates a rather serious error, and then all packets start timing out.

    I've seen the same on my neighbor's computer. He also has one of those network cards, and I suspect it may be slightly broken. His was also such that it worked in Windows, but not in Linux. Nonetheless, when he replaced it with a new one, it started working.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    7
    same thing here.
    i currently dual-boot with win98 and everything is fine in windows
    sort of fine in linux as well except when i change users without rebooting...
    wouldn't that be software related though?
    anyways, if there's nothing to do, i'll go and get another ethernet card.
    what do you suggest? something that is very well supported by linux and affordable!!!

    thanks for all the help

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •