Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
I've got mine working finally! of course not official as it's a dynamic IP so it wont be of much use but hey.. Not sure how it happened of course ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    19

    I've got mine working finally!

    of course not official as it's a dynamic IP so it wont be of much use but hey..

    Not sure how it happened of course but all i changed from last time is to change my fstab and samba.conf to give rw access to all. already had my router set to allow traffic through to it's internal ip and all that... so i'm guessing maybe it's a samba access problem more than anything?

    Not that this would be the safest way of doing it no doubt, but atleast i know it can work atleast...

    hope this is of any help to you..

  2. #12
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    i'm not doing anything to do with samba. i'm trying to run a webserver, and it works locally. it's just a matter of my router being a P.O.S.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    ../
    Posts
    62

    Re: Tunnelling Traffic To computer on my lan

    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    Hi
    I've finally gotten a domain name! And so now i'm trying to host my site with apache on my laptop. The problem is, I can't get my router to tunnel traffic on port 80 to 192.168.0.103. When I connect to 192.168.0.103, everything works, but when i try from my domain lakerdonald.homelinux.com or my ip address, it won't connect. I have tried to set up my router to tunnel the traffic, but it won't work!
    my router is a DLink DI-524

    hey afaik you might have trouble going to the outer ip address because your router doesnt do loopback very well, try to ask someone to go from their computer to that domain it might work.


    (you lan ip address)--->router<---(exterior ip address you) doesnt work
    (lan ---->) router -----> (lan) does
    (lan--->) router(---->someone else exteior ip) worked for me


    this was an example of the problem when iwas trying to set up a webcast radio, the server type isnt the problem, its what is in your iptables and firewall rules of your router that matters

  4. #14
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    okay, i just did a fresh reinstall of linux, so after i get apache back up, i'll ask some people to try and access my site.

  5. #15
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    heh find a cheep box (go dumpster diving)and set up a linux router for the cost of 2 nic's
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    166
    i wish i had more computer stores around where I live. There's only a compusa whos dumpster appears be inside a loading bay at the back of the store...

    but back to lakerdonald's problem, i can't help much, except to reccomend the Motorola WR850G which has served me very well for $50-$60
    Registered Linux User Number 373366

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •