Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello people, I am as much a newbie here as I am a newbie to Linux. To tell you my story in brief, let me say that I am attracted ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Help Help Help

Hello people,

I am as much a newbie here as I am a newbie to Linux. To tell you my story in brief, let me say that I am attracted to using Linux due to its strong resistance to viruses and spam (unlike windows). Unfortunately my USB broadband adapter's drivers and software (like the connection manger) only run under windows so I can't have internet on Linux. The adapter's company have no support for Linux, and I am using the Ubuntu Gnome version so it seemed fit to get Wine hq in order to run the adapter and get internet. Since the Linux isn't online yet, I can't use the package manager to get it, so I got the Wine application as a whole software bundle. And now I don't know how to get it installed on the Linux.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

Hello and Welcome to the forums.
    I think you can still get online with Linux but as you say, you cannot use the software they provided you. Wine will probably not work in this case...you might have to use a Windows machine to configure the network but Linux should still be able to get online.
    Which ISP are you using?

*moved this thread here*
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTbob View Post
    Hello and Welcome to the forums.