Find the answer to your Linux question:
Can someone please help. I am very new to Linux .. but I took the plunge - I got a nice new pc and installed Ubuntu 10.10. I’ve learnt some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Loop back (lo) .. maybe ? HELP im a newbie

Can someone please help.

I am very new to Linux .. but I took the plunge - I got a nice new pc and installed Ubuntu 10.10.

I’ve learnt some basics and everything runs nice but I need to do something with the network to emulate my old set-up, so first let me tell you my old set-up.
    (U.K)

Firstly I have a netgear DG834 v3 router without NAT loop back and it doesn't support the newer firmware supporting this, so on my old pc set-up I have various server set-ups one of which is Apache which I use to build websites and test flash content etc.., obviously without NAT loop back others can access my server but I cannot because of NAT conflicts - so I utilised the Microsoft loop back utility - and ill say right now .. I didn’t really configure it myself, I simply followed some instructions I found online and it all worked fine .. I can type in my dns address - myaddress.dnsservice.com and voilà I connect no problems.

OK here's what the Microsoft loop back adapter looks like:

client for Microsoft networks unchecked

file and print sharing for Microsoft networks unchecked

internet protocol (TCP/IP) enabled (checked)

properties on internet protocol (TCP/IP):

use following IP is checked and is:

IP address 90.201.178.6

Subnet mask 255.0.0.0

Default gateway left blank

use the following DNS is checked but -

Preferred DNS Server and Alternative DNS Server are both blank

clicking the advanced button on this tab shows the IP settings as set i.e 90.201.178.6 and subnet mask 255.0.0.0

DNS tab is blank

WINS tab is blank

Options tab shows TCP/IP filtering with no properties.

under the advanced tab: