Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a relative newbie, I built a P4 server last year with RH 9.0 and Apache, it lives in my Windows LAN and does fine - Samba, FTP, HTTP. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux as an Advanced Router

I am a relative newbie, I built a P4 server last year with RH 9.0 and Apache, it lives in my Windows LAN and does fine - Samba, FTP, HTTP. Now we are "ready for prime time", but I need a perimeter solution. This is my laundry list of what I need:
    1.) 2 WANs hot fail-over, preferably bandwidth optimization.
    2.) A DMZ for the web server mentioned above (needs to connect to windows box inside LAN for MySQL)
    3.) IPTABLES firewall
    4.) Must be able to run on a Dual PPro 200MHz Compaq Proliant 2500
    5.) To be obvious from the above it must use 4 nics
    6.) DNS?
    7.) One Wan is static, the second DHCP from ASDL modem.
    8.) VPN end-point or pass-through to LAN with W2K3 SMB Server as end-point.

I thought that this was solved last year when buying a HotBrick but the VPN doesn't seem to agree with MS, so I turned to Linux. I have read the ADV Routing How-to, along with many others, but still run into walls.

I have tried RH 9 (installs fine from CD, after learning to pass mem parameters to the kernel), but cannot get the fourth nic installed, with 3 I cannot reach the DNS of my ISP. Also, no more support (updates) for RH 9.

Mandrake 9.2 and SUSE SLES 9 wouldn't install from CD. I got SLES 9 to start the install from Boot floppies but then it couldn't find the CD-ROM still. Switched to NFS using the web server above (which buy the way boots the CD fine so its not a media issue) and it hangs, says its retrieving data and then freezes for 30 minutes before I rebooted.