Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all Well i was gloating yesterday cause I got things working finally but it would appear I have already managed to screw things up again! hey well those are ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

:-( localhost not found when starting apache2

Hello all

Well i was gloating yesterday cause I got things working finally but it would appear I have already managed to screw things up again!

hey well those are the benefits of being a newbie i guess...

anyway, what happens was the my linux webserver was working fine yesterday serving up my php page, i could even access it from work! so i was all happy of course...

Then i went home and decided to upgrade my php from 4.3.8 to version 5. after a little trouble having to select and deselecting various packages because of compatibiility issues etc... i managed to get everything installed ok. Then i went on to install some more apache2 mods.. And then i rebooted the machine...

so far so good...

When things were back up and running however i was no longer able to access my site, even locally..

i checked whether apache was running, which is wasnt so i started it with apachectl restart

it said ok but still nothing.. so i did an apachectl extendedstatus which said that it could start cause it cant find localhost..??

i've checked my /etc/host file which just says

127.0.0.1 localhost
    10.0.0.1 myserver

the share on which the documents are located still works ok, httpd2.conf still looks the same and still has the same DOCUMENTROOT set, so i'm a little flabbergasted as to what has happened??

anyone got any suggestions?

Thanks!

Linux Enthusiast
    First off, there is no need to reboot a linux machine for a php or apache upgrade. Just not necessary, I wouldn't do it. It is hard on the physical hardware. That is why so many drives/fans/cpus fail on startup relative to during a long run.