Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, I have encountered a situation which I cannot makes sense of, but I'm not a networking expert, so I thought I'd ask for help here. I used to run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

strange internet problems with linux

Hey, I have encountered a situation which I cannot makes sense of, but I'm not a networking expert, so I thought I'd ask for help here.

I used to run only linux on my computer, and the internet connection worked fine (ethernet). I recently installed windows on a seperate hard drive, and that also worked fine. Switching back to linux, however, the internet suddenly move very slowly, and times on out almost any connection I try to make. Specifically it never seems to able to connect to 192.168.1.1, which is my router. The only other thing which happened during this time is that I plugged another computer into my modem instead of router.

I have tried everything to get this problem to go away- disconnecting the other computer, rebooting both router and modem, connecting straight to the modem, even booting from a live cd to see if it was some configuration issue with my current distro. No dice. It gets funnier: a separate PCI ethernet adapter does not encounter this problem. Only the onboard ethernet, only on linux, and only since I installed windows.

Most of the cable modems lock onto the MAC address of the device that is plugged into it. Once you remove one to plug in another you have to reboot the modem by pulling the power for ~5 minutes and then plugging it in again to reset the MAC address. Best advice is to plug a router into the modem and then plug any other device into it.

Regards
    Robert

Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

Linux User #296285
    Get Counted