Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hey there! As part of a project I am trying to route all my outgoing traffic(ip 192.168.5.162) to a specific ip address (192.168.4.184). I have tried many commands to route ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5

    noob: IP route, routing through another computer in LAN


    Hey there!
    As part of a project I am trying to route all my outgoing traffic(ip 192.168.5.162) to a specific ip address (192.168.4.184). I have tried many commands to route through but I keep getting SIOCADDRT: No such process or RTNETLINK answers no such process.
    I feel I am missing something basic over here.

    Regards,
    Digvijay

    PS: I am doing it over the wlan0 interface

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    This sounds like a homework question.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5
    Nono! This is not a homework question. I am trying to setup a connection so that my pc can connect through various computers and share their internet connection. I am trying to make a software out of that.
    But I'll tell you what I have tried. Look the gateway for my computer is 192.168.5.1 . And the gateway to the pc I want to connect to is 192.168.4.1 . So I basically this seems like a static connection. But what I don't understand is this that connecting i can use route to specify a static connection to 192.168.4.184 via 192.168.4.1, and make it default. This should work right?

    Digvijay

    PS: You being a Linux Guru, sounds really promising

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Sorry for the late reply, I am traveling for the next few weeks.
    I need to know how things are connected. Are you connected directly to the computer you want to use as a gateway?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5
    Hey Robert,
    I got it all sorted out. Evidently this was completely the wrong way to go, for the task I had. Anyways, I'd like to keep in touch with you.

    So see you around,
    Digvijay

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Lazydog View Post
    I need to know how things are connected. Are you connected directly to the computer you want to use as a gateway?
    Hey,
    I think for future reference I should continue this post.

    So no, I am not directly connected to the computer. I am conencted to a wireless router at 192.168.5.1 . And I think there might be a switch/router at 192.168.4.1 which is connected to 192.168.5.1 and to the computer I mentioned.

    So i want all my traffic to go through that pc.
    What say?

    Digvijay

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    If you want to send all outbound traffic to 192.168.4.184 then you just have to make this your default gateway for your system and it will send everything to that address that it doesn't know how to get to.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •