Find the answer to your Linux question:
newbie here. I have two DNS servers (master and slave) for serving the machine name: sub1.example.com. I don't have any access to DNS server of the domain: example.com. Is it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

setting multiple subdomain for a single ip

newbie here.

I have two DNS servers (master and slave) for serving the machine name: sub1.example.com. I don't have any access to DNS server of the domain: example.com.

Is it possible for me to add another subdomain for example sub2.example.com only by modifying my two DNS servers? If it is possible, could anyone tell me how to do it?

Sorry for my bad English. Thanks.

Just Joined!
    Although not technically a Linux question, I will try to help.
    First, who is your webhost? Does your host use cPanel? If so, this is a simple matter. Simply scroll down to "subdomains"
    within the Doains section of your profile.
    However, if I understand correctly, this does not apply to you? zIf you don't have access to your servers backend, then you have just one option: contact your host. They will either have to grant you access, or set up the subdomain for you. That is if your hosting plan even allows subdomains. Many hosts that do not give full server access also do not allow subdomains.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the response.

Actually it belongs to the school. My school has domain: example.com. My department has domain: cs.example.com, and my laboratory department has domain: lab1.cs.example.com.

I was asked to create another sub domain: lab2.cs.example.com, but I have no access to the DNS server of cs.example.com. I only have administrator access to lab1.cs.example.com DNS server running CentOS Linux. I know how to create sub domain under lab1.cs.example.com (example: test.lab1.cs.example.com), but I don't know whether it is possible to create lab2.cs.example.com without access to the cs.example.com DNS server.