Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have a subscription to a remote secure proxy server service. It uses openvpn to establish the tunnel. I can connect to the VPN, but once I do I can't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

DNS resolution(?) and OpenVPN issues.

I have a subscription to a remote secure proxy server service. It uses openvpn to establish the tunnel.

I can connect to the VPN, but once I do I can't acess the web. At first I thought it was DNS resolution, but I just tested a direct IP connection and can't connect to the web that way either.

I have my system setup to not resolve DNS locally by commenting out DNS-dnsmasq in /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf and have my router set to use OpenDNS to resolve names.

I've tried turning off name resolution in the router.

I've tried turning dnsmasq back on to no effect.

I've checked portsentry and the only DNS setting it contains is to enable a reverse look up on an attacking host.

I've created an IP Tables allow rule with “sudo ufw allow openvpn”.

I've manually set the vpn in the GUI to resolve only vpn address automatically and to use OpenDNS's static IPs to resolve DNS.

I've tried turning ArpON off.

Torrents, wlan, lan, ftp and samba all work fine.

I've added:

dns-nameservers 208.67.222.222 208.67.220.220
    dns-search 208.67.222.222 208.67.220.220
    dns-domain 208.67.222.222 208.67.220.220

to /etc/network/interfaces under primary network interfaces.

I edited resolv so that OpenDNS's addresses are listed as nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf

I prepended OpenDNS's addresses in /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf

I've restarted both the networking service and the network manager with every change I've tried.

I've tried un/re-installing the client

I've tried dozens of combinations of the above. And probably more stuff that I can't remember right now.

But nothing has worked.