Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I'm having the same problem, im not sure how to look for rejected ip's or 2) duplicate all DROP lines and replace in the first lines DROP with LOG flags ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4

    LAN Traffic Cannot ping external IP


    I'm having the same problem, im not sure how to look for rejected ip's or
    2) duplicate all DROP lines and replace in the first lines DROP with LOG flags 6 level 4 prefix `Block 1 ', Block 2 etc and check the FW log for 'block x' messages
    after i run tcpdump -i wlan0 i get
    146 packets captured
    146 packets recieved
    0 packets dropped by kernel
    390 packets dropped by interface

    ifconfig look

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:5414 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5414 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:698701 (682.3 KiB) TX bytes:698701 (682.3 KiB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:10:76:C4:A8:BF
    inet addr:10.0.0.181 Bcast:10.0.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::a10:76ff:fec4:a8bf/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:3485 errors:0 dropped:49437 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:9025 errors:0 dropped:2 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:532687 (520.2 KiB) TX bytes:3819315 (3.6 MiB)

    what should i do?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    IPTABLES TUTORIAL might be a good starting place.
    Read through here and then ask your questions for what you do not understand.
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 04-14-2013 at 04:55 PM. Reason: Removed old thread comment.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Lazydog thanks for your quick response
    I can eliminate firewall setting as being the source. the same set of rules are being used for the last month and always had internet.
    one thing weird i have not yet figured out is when i try to open the folder(gnome mode) which contains wlan0 config, i get message"location is not a folder"
    yet i can see all the content and edit the files in vi mode and command line.

    here is a bit of the contents capture dump received. let me know if you see anything unusual

    3:54:31.060080 IP 10.0.0.195.19159 > 10.0.0.181.ndmp: Flags [.], ack 1492, win 4380, length 0
    13:54:31.060715 IP 10.0.0.195.19159 > 10.0.0.181.ndmp: Flags [.], ack 2415, win 4149, length 0
    13:54:31.077589 IP 10.0.0.195.19159 > 10.0.0.181.ndmp: Flags [F.], seq 789, ack 2415, win 4149, length 0 13:54:31.077636 IP 10.0.0.181.ndmp > 10.0.0.195.19159: Flags [.], ack 790, win 2 53, length 0
    13:54:31.078069 IP 10.0.0.195.19160 > 10.0.0.181.ndmp: Flags [S], seq 507198224, win 8192, options [mss 1460,nop,wscale 2,nop,nop,sackOK], length 0 13:54:31.078103 IP 10.0.0.181.ndmp > 10.0.0.195.19160: Flags [S.], seq 749291221 , ack 507198225, win 14600, options [mss 1460,nop,nop,sackOK,nop,wscale 6], leng t
    13:54:31.079451 IP 10.0.0.195.19160 > 10.0.0.181.ndmp: Flags [.], ack 1, win 438 0, length 0 13:54:31.080341 IP 10.0.0.195.19160 > 10.0.0.181.ndmp: Flags [P.], seq 1:792, ac k 1, win 4380, length 791 13:54:31.080392 IP 10.0.0.181.ndmp > 10.0.0.195.19160: Flags [.], ack 792, win 2 53,length0

    475 packets captured
    475 packets received by filter
    0 packets dropped by kernel
    59 packets dropped by interface
    [root@PlcmSplp jeff-405]#

    Shutting down loopback interface: [ OK ]
    Bringing up loopback interface: [ OK ]
    Bringing up interface Auto_HOME-AC52: Active connection state: activating
    Active connection path: /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/10
    state: activated Connection activated [ OK ]
    Bringing up interface wlan0: ./ifup-wireless: line 75: iwconfig: command not fo und
    Determining IP information for wlan0...dhclient(981 is already running - exiti ng.

    This version of ISC DHCP is based on the release available
    on ftp.isc.org. Features have been added and other changes
    have been made to the base software release in order to make it work better with this distribution.
    Please report for this software via the CentOS Bugs Database: xxtp;//bugs.centos.org/ exiting. failed.
    [FAILED]

    I have always used this interface Auto_HOME-AC52 to connect but ifconfig has always reported
    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:10:76:C4:A8:BF as the interface
    I have a config file named (ifcfg-Auto-HOME_AC52)and(ifcfg-wlan0)
    anyway to confirm which config is being used?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    [solved]
    turns out i was blocked from the router.
    someone may have been getting a rise out of me or the router blocked my ip after attemtping to bond interface

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •