Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I have SuSe 9.1 and the Lucent (Agere PCI) modem, and I just downloaded the ltmodem rpm from SuSe ftp site. The modem was detected but when I try to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    12

    canīt connect: no carrier


    I have SuSe 9.1 and the Lucent (Agere PCI) modem, and I just downloaded the ltmodem rpm from SuSe ftp site. The modem was detected but when I try to connect through wvdial I got the "NO CARRIER" message.. I tried everything, even adding X3 to the init line, but still doesnīt work.

    Any suggestion?

    P.S: The phone jack is connected (I use the same modem under Window$)

    Regards..

    Nico.-

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    it looks like the modem isn't "seeing" the phone line. Have a look at the tutorial section of this forum for the Winmodem in Linux post and see if any of the display commands (towards the bottom) give you any clues.

    Also, if you're using kppp, turn the debug window (in kppp) on and make sure that the AT command sent to your modem is being replied to with an OK (as this will confirm that your modem is being talked to and is answering back to your PC when Linux is running). If you're not using kppp then try (as root user (su -)) "tail --lines 45 /var/log/messages" .

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    try init option ATX3.and if you use kppp to connect try to change terminal options for NO CARRIER RESPONSE field to ERROR.also blank the fields for volume....that may works....
    Linux For Ever!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    12
    Is kinternet the same as kppp? Otherwise, where can I get kppp? I searched in the SuSe 9.1 ftp site but didnīt find it.

    I have already added X3 to the init line using wvdial.conf but still does not work. What should I modify in wvdial.conf so It could work?

    Happy new year!!

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    Linux For Ever!

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    12
    Thanks for the link. I downloaded ok but when I tried to open it an error ocurrs: "Error reading header...". Do you have another link?

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    did you instaleld it or you got that error when you tried to install it?
    Linux For Ever!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    12
    I did:

    tar -xvf kppp-1.6.25.tar.tar

    Why is it tar.tar?

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Greece / Athens
    Posts
    1,169
    tar.tar???????maybe it is corrupted or you downloaded part of it.try
    Code:
    tar -xzvf name.tar
    did it work?
    Linux For Ever!

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    12
    I tried all mirrors in http://linux.tucows.com/preview/31988.html and all fileīs formats are tar.tar and bz2 (??).. Is there a kppp download in rpm or just tar?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •