Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
I have the router type, Digicom RAW300U-A02 , linux inside. I would like install the proxy software "Squid". I've connected my router through ssh and i've seen the busybox interface ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2

    how to install proxy in my router linux inside ?


    I have the router type, Digicom RAW300U-A02 , linux inside.

    I would like install the proxy software "Squid".

    I've connected my router through ssh and i've seen the busybox interface with this commands:

    # busybox
    BusyBox v1.00 (2012.11.08-03:54+0000) multi-call binary

    Usage: busybox [function] [arguments]...
    or: [function] [arguments]...

    BusyBox is a multi-call binary that combines many common Unix
    utilities into a single executable. Most people will create a
    link to busybox for each function they wish to use, and BusyBox
    will act like whatever it was invoked as.

    Currently defined functions:
    [, arp, ash, basename, busybox, cat, chmod, chown, cp, cut, date,
    dd, df, dirname, dmesg, echo, egrep, env, expr, false, fdisk,
    fgrep, find, free, getty, grep, gunzip, gzip, head, hostname,
    ifconfig, init, insmod, kill, killall, ln, login, ls, lsmod, md5sum,
    mkdir, more, mount, mv, netstat, nslookup, passwd, pidof, ping,
    ping6, ps, pwd, reboot, rm, rmdir, rmmod, route, sed, sh, sleep,
    sysctl, tar, test, tftp, top, traceroute, true, udhcpc, udhcpd,
    umount, uname, uptime, usleep, vconfig, wc, yes, zcat

    #

    how to install software with only those commands ?

    i should download the sw directly from busybox, meaning from router, or from my pc and then put it in the router ?

    thanks

    ps.

    the why is limiting bandwidth usage of one pc.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,755
    Assuming you can root this device, then there is no reason why (if there is enough memory) you can't enable squid as well for it. Busybox is just a "proxy" for all those standard shell tools, so you don't need as much space - only enough for the stripped busybox binary.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    Assuming you can root this device, then there is no reason why (if there is enough memory) you can't enable squid as well for it. Busybox is just a "proxy" for all those standard shell tools, so you don't need as much space - only enough for the stripped busybox binary.
    sorry, but i don't get it very well.

    how do i put in router squid.tar.gz or even only the binary ?

    for example i tryed wget from router but seem that there isn't !!!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,755
    It should allow you to mount an nfs share, and then you should be able to copy the file to the device, unzip/tar it, and install it. If you don't have a compiler on the device (most likely not), then you will need to cross-compile it on your workstation (statically linked) and copy the executable over to the device.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •