Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
After upgrading to wheezy, I am no longer able to connect either of my two wireless routers using the D-Link DWA-131 802.11n Wireless N Nano Adapter(rev.A1). One router is visible ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    Cannot connect to router wirelessly after upgrading to wheezy


    After upgrading to wheezy, I am no longer able to connect either of my two wireless routers using the D-Link DWA-131 802.11n Wireless N Nano Adapter(rev.A1). One router is visible and one is not. To keep things simple, I'd like to start out trying to connect to the visible router.

    Code:
    # uname -a
    Linux debian 3.2.0-4-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.2.57-3+deb7u1 i686 GNUL/Linux
    
    # lsusb
    ...
    ... D-Link System DWA-131 802.11n Wireless N Nano Adapter(rev.A1) [Realtek RTL8192SU]
    ...
    
    # lsmod
    ...
    r8712u...
    ...
    
    # cat /etc/network/interfaces
    ...
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet static
      pre-up wpa_supplicant -B -Dwext -i wlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
      wireless-essid MY_ESSID
      address 192.168.254.204
      netmask 255.255.255.0
      gateway 192.168.254.254
      default gateway 192.168.254.254
      dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8 24.205.192.61 192.168.254.254
      post-down killall -q wpa_supplicant
    
    # cat wpa_supplicant.conf
    network={
    	ssid="MY_ESSID"
    	psk=LONG_HEX_STRING
    	key_mgmt=WPA_PSK
    }
    The contents of dmesg and kern.log are mostly
    Code:
    ...wlan0: direct probe to... timed out
    Please let me know if I need to provide any more information.

    Also, I just realized that this thread belongs in the wireless internet forum. Is there a way to move the thread?
    Last edited by vialaspada; 05-27-2014 at 06:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    25
    If your interface supports scanning try # iwlist wlan0 scanning

    you should be able to see what is out there

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer docbop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Woodshed, CA
    Posts
    949
    Try seeing what the OS is see's try doing a ifconfig -a or a iwconfig to check.
    A lion does not lose sleep, over the opinion of sheep.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by moksha View Post
    If your interface supports scanning try # iwlist wlan0 scanning

    you should be able to see what is out there
    Doing the scan shows the router I'm trying to connect to.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer docbop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Woodshed, CA
    Posts
    949
    Quote Originally Posted by vialaspada View Post
    Doing the scan shows the router I'm trying to connect to.
    Here's the manual process.....

    iwconfig -- to get the wireless info

    ifconfig wlan1 up -- bring up the device

    iwlist wlan1 scanning -- get a list of the access points (AP), make note of the name of the AP you want to connect to

    iwconfig wlan1 essid "AP name" enc AP_password -- connect to AP

    ip link set wlan1 up -- bring up the wlan1 connection to AP

    dhclient wlan1 -- get info on the connection also do ifconfig wlan1 to see the conneciton info
    A lion does not lose sleep, over the opinion of sheep.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by docbop View Post
    Here's the manual process.....

    iwconfig -- to get the wireless info

    ifconfig wlan1 up -- bring up the device

    iwlist wlan1 scanning -- get a list of the access points (AP), make note of the name of the AP you want to connect to

    iwconfig wlan1 essid "AP name" enc AP_password -- connect to AP

    ip link set wlan1 up -- bring up the wlan1 connection to AP

    dhclient wlan1 -- get info on the connection also do ifconfig wlan1 to see the conneciton info
    Okay, I've done all the steps through the iwlist wlan0 scan.

    I did not do the iwconfig wlan0 essid... enc AP_password because I was under the impression that it does not handle wpa/wpa2 keys. I also did not do the dhclient wlan0... step because I'm using a static IP.

    Also, what is the difference between using ip link set wlan0 up and using ifup wlan0?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13

    [solved]

    usb network adapter working after adding "blacklist ath5k" to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf and changing references to wlan0 to wlan1 in /etc/network/interfaces.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •