Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I need to have a windows machine for my school classes for networking, and i am sick of all the virus problems that comes with windows. Is it possible to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166

    is it possible.


    I need to have a windows machine for my school classes for networking, and i am sick of all the virus problems that comes with windows. Is it possible to route my windows machine to the net through the linux box to filter out the viruses, add ware and such crap that comes with the windows os. any responses are greatly appreciated.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267

    Linux isnt filtering nothing... So the only thing a linux would help for, is would be to "firewall" your internet connection... Viruses are program you've installed yourself...
    IF you really need something good for spyware, adware and trojan protection, dload a program called PREVX its really good.
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    It is possible to scan all http traffic for known viruses using some tool and a proxy server (squid). I do not have any expierence with this specific program but it looks promising:
    http://www.jackal-net.at/tiki-read_a...hp?articleId=1
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    And you're off to a good start if you tighten up the Windows box like a drum. Use a firewall on it and keep your iptables rules (on the Linux box routing to it) strict. Don't forget to keep up regular update procedures and virus scans.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166
    thanks guys. now let me see if i have this right. to use my linux box as a firewall (hardware wise) i need two network cards. I plug my cable modem in to one of the network cards and then i plug my second card into the router where i would plug in internet. then i would just hook my other machines into the router where it has the 4 ports for other computers right. or am i totaly off base.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    That could work if you enable NAT on your Linux machine using iptables and switch off NAT on your router and let it function as a switch/hub.. But there are other possibilities as well.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166
    what are the other possibilties. is there a way that would be easier, or are they all about the same
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    One of them is to remove the gateway from the windows machines in the configuration and redirect all traffic from and to the Internet via the proxy.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166
    is that something that would be difficult for a noob to linux
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    Basicly, your linux box would ONLY serve as firewall...
    nothing again virus or so,...
    for proper virus protection under windows, use prevx, (it will popup eerytime a program will want to access protected windows file), use a firewall (tiny perso firewall, zone alarm) ONLY with those, if you know what youre doing, NO viruses will harm your computer, I only had those for 1 full years, without ANY virus getting in. Viruses dont get into your computer on there own, they either get in from an unprotected port (windows security hole) which is fairly easy to pretty with any cheap firewall, or by a manual install.(attachment, dloaded program from P2P network, ... )
    a linux firewall isnt nescessary in your case and will only take time to set it up. And in the end you'll still have to get the proper protection on your windows...
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •