Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi Im new to linux but I am an advanced computer user in general. I just installed the MDK 10.1 distro with KDE and everything works fine except for the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I get correct IP but cant connect!?

Hi

Im new to linux but I am an advanced computer user in general.
    I just installed the MDK 10.1 distro with KDE and everything works fine except for the internet connection. Im on a LAN and I have set the eth0 to use dhcp.
    This is the strange part, it has found the dns servers and even has the correct IP that I get in windows but still I cant connect using konqueror.
    If I ping localhost I get 127.0.0.1
    Here is the readout from ifconfig:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:6E:0E:3A:61
    inet addr:193.11.59.11 Bcast:193.11.59.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20c:6eff:fe0e:3a61/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:416 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:170 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:45810 (44.7 Kb) TX bytes:15484 (15.1 Kb)
    Interrupt:5 Base address:0x8800

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:50 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3296 (3.2 Kb) TX bytes:3296 (3.2 Kb)

I may be wrong but to me this looks like a proper configuration?
    The firewall is set to allow everything.
    So what have I missed?

Just Joined!
    I thought this would be an easy problem to solve for all you linux gurus?

I can also mention that I had this problem when I tried the red hat distro,