Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, this is my first time using Linux, so your kind patience and help is much appreciated. I installed Fedora Core 3 on my laptop without hitches, and now I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

help needed: getting Intel Wireless/Pro 2100 to work

Hi, this is my first time using Linux, so your kind patience and help is much appreciated.

I installed Fedora Core 3 on my laptop without hitches, and now I'm trying to get the Intel Pro/Wireless miniPCI 2100 to work.

I was following the instructions on http://frealek.dotnode.com/blog/view/177 and after installing the iwtools, I was supposed to check if the installation was good by typing "iwconfig --version". However, it gave "bash: iwconfig: command not found". Yet, when I opened the config file, CONFIG_NET_RADIO is set to "y". So what is the problem here?

Help much needed and appreciated.

Code:
    whereis -b iwconfig
    if that returns anything, then you have it installed, and just need to export it's path to your $PATH environment variable, or run it with its full path.

Just Joined!
    I did a "whereis iwconfig" and got this:
    iwconfig: /sbin/iwconfig /usr/share/man/man8/iwconfig.8.gz

So how do I export it to my $PATH?

And I've another question (which shouldn't belong in this forum, but I didn't want to make so many posts), I'm using KDE desktop on FC3, and I created a vfat drive (/opt/) during installation. However, when I login as a normal user, I can't write to that drive. Didn't use to have this problem when using GNOME... How do I modify the access permissions in KDE such that I get to write to that drive as a normal user?

Thanks!

Add this to the line in your /etc/fstab about the /opt partition under options:
    "users"

Uh, you can do this:
    add to your ~/.bashrc:
    PATH=$PATH;/sbin
    export $PATH;