Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Ok my friend has a HP labtop dual boot win xp and SuSE 9.2, I installed ndizwrapper and now I'm stuck. I used this site http://cmb.phys.cwru.edu/kisner/linux/compaq-r3000/ it helped but i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Gboro,NC
    Posts
    55

    Broadcom wireless installation help!


    Ok my friend has a HP labtop dual boot win xp and SuSE 9.2, I installed ndizwrapper and now I'm stuck. I used this site
    http://cmb.phys.cwru.edu/kisner/linux/compaq-r3000/
    it helped but i didn't understand some of it, anyone know what am not doing or need to do.


    Also I have HP computer with the same configuration and he has a Netgear usb 802.11b/g adapter, that I want to get working.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Okay, copy the windows drivers (.inf files) to your linux disc, let's say in this case they are located in /home/joe:
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i /home/joe/bcmwl5a.inf
    then turn on the power switch on the card, and do:
    Code:
    ifup wlan0
    and if that doesn't fetch you an i.p. do:
    Code:
    dhcpcd wlan0
    as for your friend's card, could you give some more specifics on the card?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Gboro,NC
    Posts
    55
    Ok tried all that and it says its already installed and then I type iwconfig and its not listed there?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    so you did the ifconfig wlan0 up and dhcpcd wlan0?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Gboro,NC
    Posts
    55
    tried both neither worked when I did a dmesg it saysndiswrapper is loaded but then says unsupported? I don' see how it unsupported, I got it off the suse cd.

    And when I go to hardware manger and network, it says broadcom so i don't know?

    found this site to http://www.linuxant.com/driverloader/index.php#about

    http://www.broadcom.com/drivers/downloaddrivers.php
    also found a linux driver for his wireless could i use this and if so how?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3

    Compaq R3000 wireless

    Hi All,

    is there a way to use the build-in wireless card in an AMD64 Compaq laptop?

    Best Regards,

    philipat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •