Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am using Mandrake 9.0. I would like to configure Samba using webmin but there is no "server configuration" icon in Mandrake Control Center to select these features. When I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    fjf
    fjf is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    2

    Configuring Samba in Mandrake 9.0


    I am using Mandrake 9.0. I would like to configure Samba using webmin but there is no "server configuration" icon in Mandrake Control Center to select these features.

    When I installed the system I am sure I selected just about everthing and server was one of them. I am not sure why it wasn't install but it appears not to have been.

    Anybody know the best thing to do now. I would like to get SMB running so I can transfer files.
    [/quote]

  2. #2
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    So if you run "testparm /etc/samba/smb.conf" what do you get? If you installed the smb.conf file in another location then use that path instead. If you don't know where it is then type "find -name smb.conf" and press enter. It should find it if it is installed, even if samba is not running.

    Also run "ps -ax" and verify that smb and nmb are not listed anywhere to verify they are really not running unless you've already done this. So what did you find?
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  3. #3
    fjf
    fjf is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    DFW
    Posts
    2
    I got the results below:

    Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
    Processing section "[homes]"
    Processing section "[printers]"
    Processing section "[print$]"
    Processing section "[pdf-generator]"
    Loaded services file OK.
    WARNING: You have some share names that are longer than 8 chars
    These may give errors while browsing or may not be accessible
    to some older clients
    Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions


    AND ps -ax results containing reference to samba:

    nt smb support = Yes

    [print$]
    path = /var/lib/samba/printers

    print command = /usr/share/samba/scripts/print-pdf %s ~%u \\\\\%u %m %I &





  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    /dev/ocean
    Posts
    20

    Troubleshooting Samba

    If you haven't already seen this, its a "must have" for troubleshooting samba.

    See http://au1.samba.org/samba/ftp/docs/Samba24Hc13.pdf


  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    I setup samba the other day, follow the configuration guide here:
    http://hr.uoregon.edu/davidrl/samba/samba-using.html

    it done the job for me.

    Jason

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    America
    Posts
    3
    It has been my personal experience that whenever mandrake installs something rather it be apache server, mysql server, ftp server, mail server, or samba, it always is very wierd. Not all files are placed where they should be, it's what i like to call mandrakcised ...Anyways my suggestion is to take all that junk off that mandrake installed(Or install Gentoo ) and compile each server from source. Good luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •