Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
During booting, I see this message: "Bringing up eth0: Failed". Every time I am forced to start a new conection using Mandrake (10.1 comm) Control Center. I have installed the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    19

    ethernet card failed to initialize at boot


    During booting, I see this message:
    "Bringing up eth0: Failed".

    Every time I am forced to start a new conection using Mandrake (10.1 comm) Control Center.

    I have installed the driver, rhinefet.ko (and rhinefet.o just in case) for this ethernet card (VT6105 Rhine III 10/100). I followed the instructions as follows:

    1) save the rhinefet.tgz to a directory (/tmp)
    2) then, cd /tmp , then tar xvzf rhinefet.tgz ; a bunch o files are created.
    3)Then I type : make install ; some files are created, including rhinefet.ko and rhinefet.o
    4) I check that these two files are added to :/lib/modules/2.6.8.1-10mdk/kernel/drivers/net
    5) I check that the line "alias eth0 rhinefet" exists in /etc/modules.conf
    6) I check that the line "alias eth0 rhinefet" exists in /etc/aliases
    7) From the /tmp directory, I issue the command # insmod rhinefet.ko ; I dont get any message. (Is that o.k ?)
    If I do # modprobe rhinefet ; no message is displayed (is that o.k. ?)
    9) I rebbot with the command reboot.....

    ....and here I am with this problem, the card cannot be initialized at boot. What is wrong?

    After boot and login in, I do #ifconfig eth0
    I get the message:
    eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found

    Please help me to troubleshoot the problem. Thanks

    EDIT: By the way, yes, with Mandrake Control Center I can make a new ADSL connection through this card. Strange, isn't it?

    Maxei

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Serbia&Montenegro
    Posts
    281
    Try

    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    that should bring up your card.
    Linux registered user #358842
    Human knowledge belongs to the world.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    19
    Hi Angel. If I do #ifconfig eth0 up, there is an error message. This is because (IMHO) the ethernet card is not yet recognized as such. I have checked if the rhinefet module has been loaded with the command modinfo rhinefet. I obtain a listing of this driver, including aliases, and there are no depends.

    I still dont understand what does the message "bringing up interface eth0" during boot means. Is there some configuration that should be set in the BIOS?

    If I issue the command dmesg | more, I get a long listing, but i dont see any line containing eth0

    But it seems to me that a PCI in the IRQ 11 is detected and seems to share this with something else. Please see the shortened list below:

    BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 000000000009fc00 (usable)
    BIOS-e820: 000000000009fc00 - 00000000000a0000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000000f0000 - 0000000000100000 (reserved)
    BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 0000000037ff0000 (usable)
    BIOS-e820: 0000000037ff0000 - 0000000037ff3000 (ACPI NVS)
    BIOS-e820: 0000000037ff3000 - 0000000038000000 (ACPI data)
    BIOS-e820: 00000000ffff0000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
    0MB HIGHMEM available.
    895MB LOWMEM available.
    On node 0 totalpages: 229360
    DMA zone: 4096 pages, LIFO batch:1
    Normal zone: 225264 pages, LIFO batch:16
    HighMem zone: 0 pages, LIFO batch:1
    DMI 2.2 present.
    ACPI disabled because your bios is from 2000 and too old
    You can enable it with acpi=force
    Built 1 zonelists
    Local APIC disabled by BIOS -- reenabling.
    Found and enabled local APIC!
    PID hash table entries: 4096 (order 12: 32768 bytes)
    SELinux: Disabled at boot.
    Capability LSM initialized
    ACPI: Looking for DSDT in initrd ... not found!
    PCI: PCI BIOS revision 2.10 entry at 0xfb480, last bus=1
    PCI: Using configuration type 1
    ACPI: Interpreter disabled.
    Linux Plug and Play Support v0.97 (c) Adam Belay
    PnPBIOS: Disabled
    PCI: Probing PCI hardware
    PCI: Probing PCI hardware (bus 00)
    Disabling VIA memory write queue (PCI ID 0305, rev 02): [55] 89 & 1f -> 09
    PCI: Using IRQ router VIA [1106/0686] at 0000:00:07.0
    spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7.
    vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd4000000, mapped to 0xf8800000, size 1875k
    vesafb: mode is 800x600x16, linelength=1600, pages=3
    vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:02e5
    vesafb: scrolling: redraw
    vesafb: directcolor: size=0:5:6:5, shift=0:11:5:0
    fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
    apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x07 (Driver version 1.16ac)
    audit: initializing netlink socket (disabled)
    audit(1110876559.299:0): initialized
    devfs: boot_options: 0x0
    Initializing Cryptographic API
    Applying VIA southbridge workaround.
    PCI: Disabling Via external APIC routing
    isapnp: Scanning for PnP cards...
    isapnp: No Plug & Play device found
    PCI: Found IRQ 9 for device 0000:00:0b.0
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 9 with 0000:00:07.5
    ttyS4 at I/O 0xe000 (irq = 9) is a 16550A
    VP_IDE: IDE controller at PCI slot 0000:00:07.1
    VP_IDE: chipset revision 6
    VP_IDE: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
    VP_IDE: VIA vt82c686b (rev 40) IDE UDMA100 controller on pci0000:00:07.1
    ide0: BM-DMA at 0xc000-0xc007, BIOS settings: hdaMA, hdbMA
    ide1: BM-DMA at 0xc008-0xc00f, BIOS settings: hdcMA, hddMA
    serio: i8042 AUX port at 0x60,0x64 irq 12
    input: PS/2 Generic Mouse on isa0060/serio1
    serio: i8042 KBD port at 0x60,0x64 irq 1
    input: AT Translated Set 2 keyboard on isa0060/serio0
    BIOS EDD facility v0.16 2004-Jun-25, 2 devices found
    PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 0000:00:07.2
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 0000:00:07.3
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 0000:00:0c.0
    uhci_hcd 0000:00:07.2: UHCI Host Controller
    uhci_hcd 0000:00:07.2: irq 11, io base 0000c400
    uhci_hcd 0000:00:07.2: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
    hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
    hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
    PCI: Found IRQ 11 for device 0000:00:07.3
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 0000:00:07.2
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 11 with 0000:00:0c.0
    uhci_hcd 0000:00:07.3: UHCI Host Controller
    uhci_hcd 0000:00:07.3: irq 11, io base 0000c800
    uhci_hcd 0000:00:07.3: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
    hub 2-0:1.0: USB hub found
    hub 2-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
    nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
    NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module 1.0-6111 Tue Jul 27 07:55:38
    Linux video capture interface: v1.00
    bttv: Bt8xx card found (0).
    PCI: Found IRQ 10 for device 0000:00:0d.0
    PCI: Sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:00:0d.1
    bttv0: Bt878 (rev 17) at 0000:00:0d.0, irq: 10, latency: 32, mmio: 0xd8001000
    bttv0: detected: Hauppauge WinTV [card=10], PCI subsystem ID is 0070:13eb
    bttv0: using: Hauppauge (bt87 [card=10,autodetected]
    bttv0: gpio: en=00000000, out=00000000 in=00ffffdb [init]
    bttv0: Hauppauge/Voodoo msp34xx: reset line init [5]
    bttv0: Hauppauge eeprom: model=44811, tuner=Philips FM1236 (2), radio=yes
    bttv0: using tuner=2
    bttv0: i2c: checking for MSP34xx @ 0x80... not found
    bttv0: i2c: checking for TDA9875 @ 0xb0... not found
    bttv0: i2c: checking for TDA7432 @ 0x8a... not found
    tvaudio: TV audio decoder + audio/video mux driver
    tvaudio: known chips: tda9840,tda9873h,tda9874h/a,tda9850,tda9855,tea6300,tea6420,tda8425,
    pic16c54 (PV951),ta8874z
    tuner: chip found at addr 0xc2 i2c-bus bt878 #0 [sw]
    tuner: type set to 2 (Philips NTSC (FI1236,FM1236 and compatibles)) by bt878 #0 [sw]
    bttv0: registered device video0
    bttv0: registered device vbi0
    bttv0: registered device radio0
    bttv0: PLL: 28636363 => 35468950 .. ok
    Linux agpgart interface v0.100 (c) Dave Jones
    agpgart: Detected VIA Twister-K/KT133x/KM133 chipset
    PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
    PCI: Found IRQ 5 for device 0000:00:0a.0
    Bluetooth: Core ver 2.6
    NET: Registered protocol family 31
    Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
    Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
    Bluetooth: L2CAP ver 2.3
    Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
    Bluetooth: RFCOMM ver 1.3
    Bluetooth: RFCOMM socket layer initialized
    Bluetooth: RFCOMM TTY layer initialized
    NET: Registered protocol family 10
    Disabled Privacy Extensions on device c0323b60(lo)
    IPv6 over IPv4 tunneling driver
    parport0: PC-style at 0x378 [PCSPP,EPP]
    parport_pc: Via 686A parallel port: io=0x378
    lp0: using parport0 (polling).
    lp0: console ready
    agpgart: Found an AGP 2.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
    agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 4x mode
    agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 4x mode
    agpgart: Found an AGP 2.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
    agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 4x mode
    agpgart: Putting AGP V2 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 4x mode

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    In the cupboard under the stairs probably. nr Aylesbury
    Posts
    71
    Same problem here ( with the eth0 pppoa connection)
    alcatel speedtouch modem.
    I found a way to avoid the problem though.
    Just run Linux 24/7

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    19
    Hi billybeag,

    Yours is not a solution. The problem stays.

    Have you any idea of how to change the configuration so the eth0 card uses the driver I want?

    I have checked the file /etc/modules.conf and I confirm it has the line alias eth0 rhinefet.
    But eth0 seems not to exist, or the card is labelled as something else and uses a generic driver.

    How to initialize the ethernet card? That is what I need to know. In MdK Control Center, the ethernet card is identified correctly but the module it uses is wrong (I think): via-rhine.

    by the way after making a new connection in Control Center, I can do adsl-stop or adsl-start to switch off and on this connection. These settings are lost when PC is booted.

    Maxei DeVraie



    Maxei DeVraie[/b]

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by Maxei
    How to initialize the ethernet card? That is what I need to know. In MdK Control Center, the ethernet card is identified correctly but the module it uses is wrong (I think): via-rhine.
    Is this a on board (motherboard) Ethernet NIC?
    In that case, have you double checked that the adapter is enabled in bios.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    19

    PCI ethernet card VT6105 Rhine III 10/100

    Hi swemic,

    It is a PCI ethernet card that I installed just last week. My question is: Do I have to set something in the BIOS even if its a PCI card?

    Thanks
    Maxei DeVraie

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    No you should not need to.
    However, I have not seen any of those typical questions that regulary askes here, could you do a couple of commands and paste the result here
    Code:
    ifconfig
    ifconfig -a
    lspci
    That would do some helping in the trouble shooting

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    19
    I am doing this while connected:

    If I type #ifconfig I get:
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:A7:20:40:BC
    inet6 addr: fe80::210:a7ff:fe20:40bc/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:14006 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:15449 errors:1 dropped:0 overruns:1 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:6339466 (6.0 Mb) TX bytes:2606391 (2.4 Mb)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe400

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2223 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2223 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:152244 (148.6 Kb) TX bytes:152244 (148.6 Kb)

    ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:65.94.19.207 P-t-P:64.230.254.251 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:2944 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3276 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:984057 (960.9 Kb) TX bytes:437282 (427.0 Kb)


    if I type #ifconfig -a I get:
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:10:A7:20:40:BC
    inet6 addr: fe80::210:a7ff:fe20:40bc/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:14099 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:15539 errors:1 dropped:0 overruns:1 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:6414793 (6.1 Mb) TX bytes:2614842 (2.4 Mb)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe400

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2223 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2223 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:152244 (148.6 Kb) TX bytes:152244 (148.6 Kb)

    ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
    inet addr:65.94.19.207 P-t-P:64.230.254.251 Mask:255.255.255.255
    UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1

    RX packets:3033 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3362 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
    RX bytes:1057186 (1.0 Mb) TX bytes:443721 (433.3 Kb)

    sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
    NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    If I type lspci then I get:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133] (rev 02)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133 AGP]
    00:07.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super South] (rev 40)
    00:07.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
    00:07.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 16)
    00:07.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 16)
    00:07.4 Bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 [Apollo Super ACPI] (rev 40)
    00:07.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C686 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
    00:0a.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq 5880 AudioPCI (rev 02)
    00:0b.0 Serial controller: 5610 56K FaxModem 56K FaxModem Model 5610 (rev 01)
    00:0c.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6105 [Rhine-III] (rev 86)
    00:0d.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
    00:0d.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro] (rev 15)

    Of course, after boot, and not connected: If I do ifconfig, then there is no output for eth0, only something for lo appears.

    Maxei DeVraie

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    SE, Stockholm
    Posts
    512
    Ok, this is just a $.05 guess though, but I think you have managed to configure your ethernet adapter dependent on you ppp0 adapter, and when you do a re-boot, I'm quite sure you will see your eth0 if you issue ifconfig -a.
    So I would say that you error message that you get on boot is just because the ppp0 interface is not up yet!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •