Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone. I have managed to install SuSE 9 on my pc quite easily. However for Linux to be any actual use to me it needs to be able to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help on installing Netgear WG311T.

Hi everyone.

I have managed to install SuSE 9 on my pc quite easily. However for Linux to be any actual use to me it needs to be able to connect to the internet. The way I connect to the internet is through a Netgear WG311T wireless adapter. Unfortunately I am a huge newbie to Linux and so have no idea about how to do anything.

So if any of you could write a complete guide on how to get my wireless card installed and connected to the internet with what the different commands do (I want to learn) then I would be very grateful.

When you open YaST (Start -> System -> YaST) and go into the Network Devices -> Network Card section, does it recognize the card? If so, then you can use that section to enter your SSID, etc.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Just Joined!
    It recognises my card as a Netgear card but not as the specific card. I tried configuring it but it doesn't seem to support WPA which is how I secure my network or have options for the 108Mbps speed I run the network at.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    What version of Suse are you running? In 9.2, the YaST Online Update (YOU) has an option to download firmware for various types of network cards; not sure about the earlier versions, but I think it was there in 9.1 as well. I believe your card would require the ACX100 firmware, but there wouldn't be any harm in downloading all of them.

After installing the firmware so that Suse can "see" your card properly, you should be able to use YaST to set WPA, etc.