Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am quite new to Linux. I have a old Toshiba portable with Mandrake 10.1 Community edition. I am trying to get a DLINK G650 to work on this machine. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trying to install madwifi_pci - ath0 missing

I am quite new to Linux. I have a old Toshiba portable with Mandrake 10.1 Community edition. I am trying to get a DLINK G650 to work on this machine. I dont have any other network card (wired or wireless) on this machine. My card seem to be recognized but during boot i'm told that ath_pci cannot find device ath0. I cannot find this device in any other way either. Can anyone tell me how to install ath0?
    I have dowloaded madwifi_pci source. I have stored these files in a directroy under home. Is it necessary to store them in a special directory? I have also installed my Linux source (urpmi linux-source). I have modified modules.conf, modules and modprobe.conf to include alias ath0 ath_pci. I have created a symbolic link to the source files. I then run make clear, make, and make install. Should I modify any configuration files or variables, or ececute any other commands before or after these make-commands? These commands run without errors. Then I run depmod. After this proecdure there is a new directory /lib/modules/2.6.8.1-10mdkcustom/net with several *.ko files, among them ath_pci.ko and ath_hal.ko. I expected to get these files in my /lib/modules/2.6.8.1-10mdk directrory? If I try to modprobe ath_pci I get a error message tellling me that ath_pci not found. insmod ath_pci.ko complains about an invalid parameter -l. And device ath0 is still not found.
    Are my problems related to the missing ath0 and how can I install this? Or is it some error in compiling and loading madwifi_pci? Or both? And yes, I have the wireless extensions installed.

Knut

Just Joined!

Re: Trying to install madwifi_pci - ath0 missing

skip madwifi