Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 42
ok, try another common user: named -u bind Tell me how that works out. Also, while BIND is running, you can reload the config without restarting BIND with the folowing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230

    ok, try another common user:

    named -u bind

    Tell me how that works out. Also, while BIND is running, you can reload the config without restarting BIND with the folowing command:

    BIND8: ndc reload
    BIND9: rndc reload

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    16
    Actually let me describe u my problem...may be this might not be the right way to handle it..
    problem is that when i typein www.poetryworks.com i cant acess the site but when i type in 66.218.130.25 i can acess the site...i know its the DNS problem which i am not able to figure out at all...
    i did some changes to the IN A records and i know it take s 24 hrs for the changes to come into existence unless u can manually start named ..thats the reason i want to start named..i am bugged with thsi site not comming up?
    any idea?'

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    16
    same answer..user bind unknow
    how abt me typeing in /usr/sbin/named on the command prompt..ad then runing ..will this help?

  4. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    There's 2 way to work around the time issue with changing your DNS.

    restart BIND completely.
    /etc/init.d/named restart

    Just flush the cache in BIND 9.
    rndc flush

    EDIT:

    You need to add a user to the system for BIND to run as. You don't want BIND to run as root.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    16
    this is the result of the first query:
    root@tux2:/var# /etc/init.d/named restart
    bash: /etc/init.d/named: No such file or directory

    also after i do rndc flush wht am i suppose to do next.how can i add a user for bind...dont know that too

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    Show me the results for the following command:

    ls -l /etc/init.d

    We'll see once and for all if there is an init script for BIND. Also, we need to determine if BIND is already running. Hopefully the following command works ok in slackware. Show me the results.

    ps -Af | grep 'named'

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    16
    root@tux2:/sbin# ls -l /etc/init.d
    ls: /etc/init.d: No such file or directory
    root@tux2:/sbin# ps -Af | grep 'named'
    root 6965 6923 0 15:35 pts/3 00:00:00 locate named
    root 6980 1 0 15:37 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/named
    root 7124 1 0 16:18 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/named

  8. #18
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    ok, apparently your init is stored elsewhere or doesn't exist at all. Try this command:

    ls -l /etc/rc.d/init.d

    Also, I see BIND is already running twice. That's probably not what you want at all. So shut down 'em both down with these commands:

    kill -KILL 6980
    kill -KILL 7124

    Now that BIND is shut down, we need to start BIND back up. IF the ls command above returned "Not found", then you need to run the following commands.

    groupadd named
    useradd -g named -d /var/named -M named
    named -u named

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    16
    ok successfully done the steps except the first step rerutned no such file /directory(ls -l /etc/rc,d/init.d)

    now wht???

  10. #20
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    230
    Well, now I assume that you don't have any init scripts. heh. Who needs 'em anyway right? To manage your BIND server, use the following commands:

    1) flush the cache to make dns changes on other dns servers work immediately.

    rndc flush

    2) Stop the BIND server

    rndc stop

    3) Start the BIND server

    named -u named

    4) If you changed the BIND config or hosted zone files

    rndc reload

    And that's the story. If you have any problems, let us know.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •