Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
In using the ssh command what would be the way i would access it from a windows machine. Basically I would like to access the music that is located on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166

    Using ssh


    In using the ssh command what would be the way i would access it from a windows machine. Basically I would like to access the music that is located on my linux box from my work computer, which is running windows.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie jeickal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    114
    You need a ssh client for Windows like putty or teraterm.
    ==> http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/
    Start by getting one already and come back here if you're having more specific questions.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166
    I will only need the one for windows though right. The one listed for unix i will not need, because it is already in my linux os.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Another solution would be to setup your music directory to be access via a browser.

    Just a thought.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    166
    how would this be done. that sounds like it might work pretty good.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

  7. #6
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    you will need samba installed on the linux computer, this will basically setup windows shares so the windows computer can see the files.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    Well, it's a project, but it's do-able. Check this out:

    http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/WileyT...fContents.html

    Look at chapter nine. I haven't done it myself, but I've read it. If you can't get the book for some reason, let me know and I'll give you the jist of it.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer adrenaline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    1,058
    Also check out Real Networks Helix
    Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had.
    -- Linus Torvalds

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •