Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I have the CNet PROwl 200 NIC card. Anybody aware if Linux has kernel support for that NIC? or will i have to throw in an extra linksys nic? I'd ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    59

    Nic Query


    I have the CNet PROwl 200 NIC card. Anybody aware if Linux has kernel support for that NIC? or will i have to throw in an extra linksys nic? I'd rather use the CNet.

    Michael

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    i did have a look around google, and couldnt find anything. this could mean 3 things:
    1) its supported, works and no-one has ever had a problem with it
    2) I need more training on using google
    3) It is a rare card, and no one has ever tried to get it working under linux (or they have, but never posted it on the net)
    4) ???

    Jason

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    59
    with my luck .. the big number 3 thanks man!

    Mike

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    i was hoping for anything but number 2

    Jason

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    59
    lol yea..i didn't know this but there is a "Google for dumbies" book. i'm afraid to read it because it's a large book and i don't know enough of google to encompass a large book. and i don't wanna get schooled in the use of a search engine...


    michael

  7. #6
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Have you gone directly to the mfg's web site? If so what does it say?
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Calgary, AB CANADA
    Posts
    496
    I googled and found a BSD thread on this issue.

    http://www.freebsdforums.org/forums/...5&pagenumber=1

    I didn't read through everything on both pages, but it sounds like that card works for some, and not for others.

    Hopefully some of this will translate to Slackware for you. You're still on Slack, aren't ya?

    g/l Mike
    \"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.\"
    Albert Einstein

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    59
    i'm really really dumb.. I saw your post and got all excited. I went to the link and started reading. I didn't realize I had already got it to work . In fact this is the very same computer that i was wondering about.. *whew* Thank you so much for your help. I really appreciate it


    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •