Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42
I have just installed Red Hat Linux on one of my old computers so I can see how to use it and what features it has got! However I am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23

    Connecting my Linux box to the internet


    I have just installed Red Hat Linux on one of my old computers so I can see how to use it and what features it has got! However I am having some trouble connecting this to the Internet.

    I currently have an NTL set top box which is connected to a wireless hub and we have 3 laptops running of this hub (all wireless connections and running Windows XP)

    I have connected my Linux box to this hub through the Ethernet port. Ive tried to set up the Internet on my Linux box, I used the wizard, choosing an Ethernet connection and then the appropriate hardware but when I try to activate my connection it cannot determine an IP address.

    Should I be able to set this manually?

    Im not familiar with the Red Hat GNOME so please try and explain anything is simply as possible!! lol!

    Thanks a lot!

    Ian

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Open up a terminal, and type:
    Code:
    su -
    ifconfig eth0 up
    dhcpcd eth0

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23

    tried that

    ok, i tried that and it says:


    DHCPCD: HOST NAME LOOKUP FAILURE

    IFCONFIG: '--help' GIVES MORE INFORMATION

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    what did you type exactly?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23

    i typed...

    i tried it a few times

    su - <pressed enter>
    ifconfig eth0 up <pressed enter>
    dhcpcd eth0 <pressed enter>

    this gave a "bash" error

    su - ifconfig eth0 up dhcpcd eth0 <pressed enter>

    this said, su: ifconfig doesnt exist

    then...

    su - <pressed enter>
    ifconfig eth0 up dhcpcd eth0 <pressed enter>

    im sorry if im doing it wrong, i have had no experience before with command line interfaces!!

    thanks

    ian

  6. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    you did it correctly the first time. what was the bash error?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23

    bash error

    -bash: dhcpcd: command not found

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    try:
    Code:
    dhclient eth0

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23

    ....

    its come up with a lot of text, what should i be looking for?

  10. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    what does ifconfig eth0 say?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •