Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'll be the first one to admit I am not a Linux expert, but I've run fast Linux servers in the past without any issues like this before. A brief ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux Network Slowing down more by the day ?

I'll be the first one to admit I am not a Linux expert, but I've run fast Linux servers in the past without any issues like this before.

A brief description of my network setup.
    I am running a local network connected to a broadband connection. I have the Cable Modem going to a router, which simply goes into a non-secure windows PC and a Linux server (RedHat 9), which is using iptables as a firewall for my local network. The Linux machine is not a beast. It is a 366 Intel Celeron with 1 gig of Ram. The hard drive has at least 40 gigs of free space.

Brief description of my problem:
    I can do traces to an outside IP (www.yahoo.com for example) and the longest periods of time are always when my linux box tries to connect with the Router connected to the firewall. It seems to lose about 1/3 of the packets and IF a page loads up, it often has pages with "no data" or other errors associated with bad packets. That said, Once i am connected to the outside world, I can stream audio without any problems. When i try to send files to anyone using FTP the connection goes at a full 1k and often times out, where as I can initiate the same transfer on the non-secure windows box and it will send at a minimum of 30k.

I realize this is a very general question, but I'm open to any and all suggestions. I know the 366 isn't very fast, but the network seems to be getting slower by the day. Please help

Linux Enthusiast