Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey all. I am very new to Linux - Just got it yesterday and installed it. I posted the below question in the Laptop forum, but once I saw there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Configuring Wireless on mandrake 10.1

Hey all. I am very new to Linux - Just got it yesterday and installed it. I posted the below question in the Laptop forum, but once I saw there was a networking specific forum, I figured I'd try it in here as well.

I have a Compaq Presario x1000 dual-boating Win XP Pro & Mandrake Powerpack 10.1. The wireless card is Intel Pro/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter (yes its a Centrino setup).

Linux detects the card and sees it and has drivers for it and everything - no problem. My problem is in the configuration in Mandrake. I am running WEP on the WAP, and I've put in all the settings I know (for instance the SSID broadcast name and the WEP key - but then there are other text fields (I believe one of them was frequency) and several others that I have no idea what to put in for them. Is anyone able to walk me through my configuration so I can get my wireless to work?

Also - I'm thinking I may need an actual wireless program? Everything I've just talked about was the "hardware" configuration - I may actually need a program that handles the wireless profiles and all that stuff? Any help is greatly appreciated (remember though - I'm new to Linux - so please be detailed if at all possible!)

Thanks!

~Anthony

It would help if you could tell us what the other fields are. You can probably check the "correct" settings by looking at the adapter's properties in Windows and reproducing them in Mandrake, if nothing else. Usually the defaults are ok for most networks.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Linux Enthusiast