Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, This is my first post and i am new to linux. I have got a D-Link DWL-G520+ wireless card and i do not know how to configure it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

how to configure d-link DWL-G520+ card? + wireless pkt cap

Hello all,

This is my first post and i am new to linux. I have got a D-Link DWL-G520+ wireless card and i do not know how to configure it in linux. I have tried using ndiswrapper but it gives an error later on which i cant figure out, it says 'ndis driver installed' but not 'harware installed' , which according to the installation procedure, it should. It had been written in the prerequisites of ndiswrapper that linux kernel 2.4.26 is required, whereas mine is 2.4.18 , is that why it is giving error? And if that is the case then how can i update the kernel?

Secondly, if my card gets configured hopefully, i want to create an application to capture the wireless packets and get the header fields from them for analysis. I especially want to capture the beacon frame as it is vital for my project.

I have tried capturing in windows but cannot get the beacon frame, and also i have not found any specific options regarding 802.11 packet header fields extraction in any languages. I used JPcap too, but the kfuji one, not the sourceforge one. The sourceforge one does not seem to work with my windows 2000. Anyways, JPcap is also for ethernet packets and not specifically for 802.11 protocol. Also, i read in many articles that windows (WinPcap) does not support 802.11 management and control frame capture.

So, could someone tell me how to capture the packets? Which language supports that etc. Can it be done using perl? But first and foremost i need to get my card configured otherwise its no use! Please help, any help would be appreciated!

Raza

Linux Enthusiast
    Hi,