Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
hey.. well i loaded ubuntu on my computer last night and tried to set up my internet connection. it was getting kind of late so i gave up. i woke ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Texarkana, Arkansas
    Posts
    7

    i am either a moron, or its just not here.


    hey.. well i loaded ubuntu on my computer last night and tried to set up my internet connection. it was getting kind of late so i gave up. i woke up this morning and thought i'd try again. it didnt work that time either. i began to suspect something was wrong so i researched a little and read somewhere that earthlink doesnt work with linux. that made sence because mine sure isnt.. yes. quite disappointing.

    right.. my point. i've looked around your forums and have found nothing regarding any recommendations to any other isp. if it accounts for anything, i'm from arkansas.. yeah..

    :lease reply::

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    How do you connect to the internet?
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Texarkana, Arkansas
    Posts
    7
    earthlink dial-up

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    California!
    Posts
    159
    network protocalls are standardized. their should make no difference what OS you running, as long as that OS supports the appriiate network protocalls. i would find it hard to believe that your peoblem is that earthlink doesent support linux. if that is indeed the case i would get a new isp asap
    Registered Linux User # 392752

    \"pr0n\": An anagram of \"porn,\" possibly indicating the use of pornography.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Texarkana, Arkansas
    Posts
    7
    you must not get it, dave. earthlink wont work with linux and we know this.. you're comment is in no way helpful to anything i asked of. once again, if there are any recommended isp's, i would like to know

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    USA, Michigan, Detroit
    Posts
    329
    I would look around for a local ISP that just uses a standard dialer. The problem with ISP's like Earthlink and AOL is that they use a proprietary dialer. Before I got DSL I used Prodigy which is owned by SBC and just uses a standard dialer. I would start with the local phone company first.
    Long live the revolution!
    Have a nice day.
    If you want real change vote Libertarian!

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Quote Originally Posted by tmackey
    you must not get it, dave. earthlink wont work with linux and we know this.. you're comment is in no way helpful to anything i asked of. once again, if there are any recommended isp's, i would like to know
    Actually Dave DID GET it. You said " i researched a little and read somewhere that earthlink doesnt work with linux. that made sence because mine sure isnt" which sounds like you are saying thier system is incompatible. That's not the case. No ISP that I know of, and I've dealt with dozens, offers Technical Support when the OS is anything but Windows.

    Earthlink, Adelphia, SBC, Verizon, and all the rest.......all have there 'moments' and most work most of the time and most of them are anything but 100%. Sounds to me like you need to focus on your modem setup first so perhaps you can post some specifics about what you have going on there.
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    There is no way possible that the OS is the problem with connecting to the internet.
    Support from the ISP is a different matter.
    If it were the OS causing the problem, what would happen in a dual-boot system. You are running Windows, then you reboot into Linux and you lose the internet connection. I don't think so.
    Example, there was a time when I was running Windows and I could not connect to the internet, with Windows or Linux.
    Booted into Windows, I did "ipconfig /release", and then "ipconfig /renew"
    Now my internet connection works in Windows. I reboot into Linux and I can connect to the internet just fine.
    But my ISP, Comcast, they don't support Linux, AFAIK, just Windows.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Rong and DesignbyDave are correct. You do not need Earthlinks software to connect to their service. Earthlink even gives instructions on their website to connect manually using Mac or Windows.

    You need to ensure your modem is working properly. Once that's done, you can then manually connect to Earthlink.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Texarkana, Arkansas
    Posts
    7
    now.. i reloaded xp and i connected just fine. this indicates to me that there's nothing wrong with the modem. and i looked on the earthlink site and thought i saw something about manually connecting to the internet, but it was a list of os's that they had connection software for. i dont think that's what i need... or is it? even if it is i saw no distro's of linux there.

    http://support.earthlink.net/support...necting/dialup <thats where the list is. it's at the bottom of the page.

    my main concern is will earthlink work with ubuntu?
    ANOYONE:
    it'd be a few less headaches if you'd just spell it out for me. step by step if you don't mind, and if you can find the time..

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •