Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
I have an epox 8rda+ nforce2 board, which has an onboard NIC. this NIC is detected and configured by mandrake 9.1 when I run that network configuration utility in mandrake ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56

    Anybody here with nforce2 and red hat 9?


    I have an epox 8rda+ nforce2 board, which has an onboard NIC. this NIC is detected and configured by mandrake 9.1 when I run that network configuration utility in mandrake control panel. Hiowever, in red hat 9, reed hat detects the NIC, but it wont activate the NIC. I dont know whats wrong, as it obviously sees it.

    I need help fast, mandrake 9.1 is going in the bin, too buggy.

    Thx

  2. #2
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    try running this in a console:

    Code:
    ifconfig eth0
    post what it comes up with.

    It don't think it'd really hurt so try this too:

    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 up
    see if that does anything...

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    will do, thx.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75
    I believe (and am likely to be wrong) that redhat don't install the nvidia drivers because the end user must accept the licensing of nvidia.
    To resolve this, you should download the latest nvidia drivers from their site, install them, confirm the driver module is loaded at boot and you should be able to get your networking device to start.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    u sure about that? i went about installing nforce2 driver the same way i did with mandrake 9.1..

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75
    So you already have the drivers installed then???
    What did you get from /sbin/ifconfig ?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by ventricle
    I believe (and am likely to be wrong) that redhat don't install the nvidia drivers because the end user must accept the licensing of nvidia.
    To resolve this, you should download the latest nvidia drivers from their site, install them, confirm the driver module is loaded at boot and you should be able to get your networking device to start.
    how do i confirm if theyre loaded, and how do I make them load?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    i got something about collision with that /sbib/ifconfig command.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75
    lsmod - list modules.
    modprobe nvidia - to load.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    nvm, I found out that red hat is missing a file necessary for the nvidia nforce nci to work properly. I downloaded the file from somes ite, and now it works. however, sound doenst work properly now, darned red hat. more bugs than mandrake 9.1 i went back to mandy last night.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •