Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I googled for a solution to this but couldn't find anything. I was just wondering if anyone knows a way to install this particular device? I thinks it's fairly ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless USB - Hawking HWU54G

Hi, I googled for a solution to this but couldn't find anything. I was just wondering if anyone knows a way to install this particular device? I thinks it's fairly new so it may not be supported anywhere. Thanks in advance for any help. I'm useing Suse 9.2.
    I already tried using the ndiswrapper, but i get a hardware not present on the list. I'm fairly new to linux, so I'm not sure if I can make it recognize the device where it is.

-Bracken

Just Joined!
    I JUST got one of these from an MS seminar (perhaps you too?) And was anxious to try it out on my Debian and Mandrake lappys. Hmm looks like it may not work huh? If I get it going I will post.

Just Joined!
    Thanks. I didn't get mine at a seminar, but after rebates it's only 10 dollars. Not bad. I have a dual boot system, and it works great in XP.

-Bracken

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!

hope this helps...

i found information from this website http://linux-wless.passys.nl/

it says that the chipset is a "Zydas ZD1211" and you can find drivers here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/zd1211/

i'm trying to get linux running on a laptop and hopefully it won't be too hard.

hope it helps.

[edit] i'm not too sure if this enables the WPA on the card though.. it seems the windows software bundled with it handles all that. would be great if someone could tell me how to do that in linux.

Just Joined!
    you can use wpa in linux

http://zd1211.ath.cx/zd1211

Just Joined!