Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I am having Onboard NIC (SiS made) and another NIC (Relatk) in my PCI. Now problem is that SISmade was not functioning properly, but linux is decteting them both correctly. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    25

    How to Manage 2 NIC's


    I am having Onboard NIC (SiS made) and another NIC (Relatk) in my PCI. Now problem is that SISmade was not functioning properly, but linux is decteting them both correctly. So i deleted the SiS profile from my system. Now it is not initializing the Reltek NIC properly. Anybody Help Me

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    when you say its not initialising the nic? It fails to get an ip address? or it's not even detected?

    Jason

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    25

    Nic

    It is Detecting, and while "bringing up the interface eth0" it is saying that "delaying initiazation"

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Are you trying to make a dual homed host or something else?
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    never heard of that error message before..

    Try "ifup eth0" and "ifup eth1"

    Jason

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    what is your output from "lsmod" and "lspci"?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    25
    hi jason,

    i tried the 'ifup etho' and it gave message like in this way.

    Bringing up eht0: ne2k-pci device eht0 does not seems to be present.

    what do i do now?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    "lsmod" - is the driver loaded?

    Also, is this a dual boot PC? if so, does the card work in windows?

    Does your network card have any light's on the back of the PC to indicate it's status?

    jason

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    25
    yes jason
    my PC is dual boot and that card was dected by windows(XP & MP)

    I can see a green light glowing on the back of PC(in windows)

    i haveto try Ismod yet

    -nandu

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Rahul

    here are the steps to solve this problem.
    1]"ifconfig -a"
    2]copy hardware addre. of your nic and edit your"/etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifconfig-eth?" file in the following fashion.
    3] Actually i m pasting my ifconfig-eth0 file for your reference
    DEVICE=eth0:0
    BROADCAST=192.168.10.255
    IPADDR=192.168.10.254
    NETMASK=255.255.255.0
    NETWORK=192.168.10.0
    TYPE=Ethernet
    USERCTL=no
    IPV6INIT=no
    PEERDNS=yes
    BOOTPROTO=none
    ONPARENT=yes
    GATEWAY=192.168.1.3
    ONBOOT=yes

    I hope that u get the positive resut

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •