Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a Linux newbie. My computer spends most of the day idle, so I would like to give processor for distributed computing projects related to medical/pharmaceutical research. Where can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Distributed computing

I am a Linux newbie. My computer spends most of the day idle, so I would like to give processor for distributed computing projects related to medical/pharmaceutical research. Where can I find useful sites and/or Debian packages to connect to distributed computing research networks?

Linux Engineer
    Lansbury's Lido

thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

Linux Engineer
    The Drug Design and Optimization Lab (D2OL)™

The (D2OL)™ software is downloaded to your personal computer and given drug candidates to evaluate. Once your computer receives tasks to execute, it begins a candidate evaluation process similar to finding the right key to fit into a lock. Distributed computing technology enables the process of sending hundreds of thousands of possible keys to all computing devices participating in the network. This site manages the results generated and returned to the network once you connect again to the internet. As a user, no intervention is required and the software executes as long as it is turned on, even when disconnected from the Internet.

By applying our tested platform which uniquely takes advantage of all available computing devices within its community including personal computers, servers and eventually devices like TiVo(tm) and the Xbox™, we are applying massive, cost-effective computing power to combat major health concerns and potential future threats.