Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
have read the very useful ( everything works ) page on setting up VNC server, below; http://www.this_site_does_not_exist/viewtopic.php?t=7 HOWEVER, there is ah wee problem, in that running "vncviewer" ( client...after entering ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    3

    VNC server setup ...any ideas ?


    have read the very useful ( everything works ) page on setting up VNC server, below;
    http://www.this_site_does_not_exist/viewtopic.php?t=7

    HOWEVER, there is ah wee problem, in that running "vncviewer" ( client...after entering the required IP address of the server ) gives a message :-
    ...some stuff...Connection refused.

    Honest, have checked that f/walling is OFF.
    netstat also yields no results for the appropriate port.
    Very bizarre...

    Cheers for any ideas on this one - Marc.

    mcrae@ananzi.co.za

  2. #2
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Connection refused
    Take a look at http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/history/62540

    and http://www.realvnc.com/pipermail/vnc...ch/020672.html

    These maybe of some help you can also try google for "vnc connection refused" for more hits on that error.

    Let us know how it works out.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    if you do netstat -an on the machine the vncSERVER is installed, do you see something like 0.0.0.0:5901?, if not, the vncserver has not started, so run "vncserver" to start it, and check "netstat -an" again to be sure.

    then run "ifconfig", to find your IP address (NOT 127.0.0.1 !!! unless you want to connect from the same machine (defeating the point of VNC)).

    start the vncVIEWER on the other machine, your connecting to: <IP>:1

    the <IP> you got from running ifconfig, the :1 tells the client your connecting to port 5901.

    Jason

  4. #4
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    This is more of a what services are you running statement. If you want to know what services (like vnc) are running from a cmd prompt enter "ps -ax" it will list all services currently running including in this case vnc.

    Just another way of looking at it. Also will help when you are having issues with other services.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thnks everyone (Dan, Jason) - it's working great !

    Things just got a bit messy with 8 students in the class and a mix of distro's (RedHat7.2+Mandrake9.0)
    ...the problem was VNCserver ( and the ) : 1
    which became :-
    vncserver :3 ( Eager students, slow "teacher" 'cos it took a while to spot )

    then trying to attach their clients to :1 when it wasn't there !


    We R looking at Mandrake9.0 'cos so many students are using this in EU.

    Some comments:-

    - Installs and handles the onboard ProSavage8 stuff OK with the ProSavage4 driver ( better than RH8 kernel which goes tit's up each time ! Yes, even in text mode !! Xfree86 v3 or v4 issue I think...? )

    - Mandrake9.0 lost a lot of useful tools, and thus the nice GUI doesn't help 'cos it doesn't solve anything, but hides it away...if one is new to that distro ( not like MS "hiding" though )

    - TERRIBLE screen savers !! Bring back the Matrix screen saver and all of the RHat ones...pleeeeeeeasse !!!

  6. #6
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Any idea how it got changed from the defualt of 1?

    Also normally you shouldn't have to speciify what port your on unless you changed it. i.e machine _name or ip should be enough.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •