Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am running Slack 9, and I use KDE. I want to enable LISa Daemon at startup. How exactly do I do this?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    19

    LISa Daemon


    I am running Slack 9, and I use KDE. I want to enable LISa Daemon at startup. How exactly do I do this?

  2. #2
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    You enter the filename to be run in the /etc/inittab file. Logged in as "root" you can use whatever text file editor your familar with.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    19
    okay then...

    What are the commands that I put into this file. Sorry, not sure about this one.

  4. #4
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    Open the file, then look at the format or syntax used for the other services. You just use the same for LISa Daemon as any other of the daemons. Just make sure it on its own line and load it last in case there are any startup issues with it. You'll should be able to see it load or fail on the screen upon reboot when all the services are being loaded.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    /etc/inittab?

    I would have put it in /etc/rc.d/rc.M, just write the command at the bottom of the file which you normally use to start the application. (unless it is a GUI tool?).

    Jason

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4

    No LISa?

    I have used Red Hat Fedora from core 1 to core 6, doing a clean install each time. I can set Samba shares and access them from my laptop (WinXP) but from core 1-6 I have never been able to access my laptop from Fedora. When I try to use the LAN browser I always get an error that says 'The LISa daemon does not appear to be running'.

    LISa runs at boot, and when I check, it is always running. I have tried stopping and restarting it, but still get the error message. I must be missing something (probably simple), but would appreciate any input.

    Thanks,

    SomeDamFool

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •