Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello. I'm very new to Linux and I got the ArkLinux distro. I know it comes from the RedHat/Mandriva line, but it's for use on a personal computer and it's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How do I use my WUSB11 v2.6 Linksys Wireless-B USB Network Adapter with ArkLinux?

Hello. I'm very new to Linux and I got the ArkLinux distro. I know it comes from the RedHat/Mandriva line, but it's for use on a personal computer and it's supposed to be easy. Right now, I can't get connected to the Internet because I don't know how to install the Atmel AT76C503 Driver for Linux. I know there is an install text file in the gzipped file, but that file is only for Kernel 2.4.x. I have Kernel 2.6.x. I know it works with Kernel 2.6.x because other people like me have had great success with this driver. I just don't know how to install it.

When I tried doing what that text file told me to do, I got stuck where it told me to type: "make usb". It asked me where the directory for the Kernel was, and I didn't know where it was. I tried searching for it, but I had no luck.

Also, I'm having another problem, this time with my monitor. The only resolution that I can be in KDE is 640x480. However, my monitor can display all the way up to 1280x1024. It really bugs me to have the resolution so low like that. I tried editing the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, but I couldn't find the place from which to change. I found an entry, "Display_Size", but I tried to change that from "320 240" to "1280 1024" (I'm trying to get it to look accurate in relation to the actual file) but it didn't work.

Please, if you could help me, that would be great.

-- If you are unfamiliar with the ArkLinux distro, you may look at their website @ http://www.arklinux.org .

Some info on ArkLinux:
    -KDE based, version 3.4
    -Bash Konsole Shell
    -Kernel 2.6.x
    --If you need anymore info, let me know.

Thanks,