Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have an Asus M6N laptop which I have installed Fedora Core 4 on. Mostly this is a good thing. I am currently working on the wireless network and I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5

    wpa_supplicant & ipw2200 under fc4


    I have an Asus M6N laptop which I have installed Fedora Core 4 on. Mostly this is a good thing. I am currently working on the wireless network and I'm stuck!!

    Things work with all the security turned off. When I try to implement wpa encryption the world ends... I'm getting the following dump from wpa_supplicant:

    [root@localhost etc]# /usr/sbin/wpa_supplicant -w -ieth1 -Dipw -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd
    Initializing interface 'eth1' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'ipw'
    Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
    Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
    ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
    ctrl_interface_group=500 (from group name 'guy')
    eapol_version=1
    ap_scan=1
    fast_reauth=1
    Line: 265 - start of a new network block
    ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=:
    62 65 72 67 79 6e 65 74 bergynet
    scan_ssid=0 (0x0)
    priority=2 (0x2)
    mode=0 (0x0)
    proto: 0x1
    auth_alg: 0x1
    key_mgmt: 0x2
    pairwise: 0x8
    PSK - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
    group: 0x8
    Priority group 2
    id=0 ssid='bergynet'
    Initializing interface (2) 'eth1'
    EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
    EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
    EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
    EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
    EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
    EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
    wpa_driver_ipw_init is called
    Own MAC address: 00:0e:35:46:e0:0a
    wpa_driver_ipw_set_wpa: enabled=1
    ioctl[IPW_IOCTL_WPA_SUPPLICANT]: Operation not supported
    wpa_driver_ipw_set_key: alg=none key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    ioctl[IPW_IOCTL_WPA_SUPPLICANT]: Operation not supported
    Failed to set encryption.
    wpa_driver_ipw_set_key: alg=none key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    ioctl[IPW_IOCTL_WPA_SUPPLICANT]: Operation not supported
    Failed to set encryption.
    wpa_driver_ipw_set_key: alg=none key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    ioctl[IPW_IOCTL_WPA_SUPPLICANT]: Operation not supported
    Failed to set encryption.
    wpa_driver_ipw_set_key: alg=none key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    ioctl[IPW_IOCTL_WPA_SUPPLICANT]: Operation not supported
    Failed to set encryption.
    wpa_driver_ipw_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
    ioctl[IPW_IOCTL_WPA_SUPPLICANT]: Operation not supported
    wpa_driver_ipw_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
    ioctl[IPW_IOCTL_WPA_SUPPLICANT]: Operation not supported
    Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
    Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
    RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
    RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
    Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
    EAPOL: Port Timers tick - authWhile=0 heldWhile=0 startWhen=0 idleWhile=0
    EAPOL: Port Timers tick - authWhile=0 heldWhile=0 startWhen=0 idleWhile=0
    EAPOL: Port Timers tick - authWhile=0 heldWhile=0 startWhen=0 idleWhile=0
    Scan timeout - try to get results
    Received 413 bytes of scan results (2 BSSes)
    Scan results: 2
    Selecting BSS from priority group 2
    0: 00:06:25:ff:74:06 ssid='linksys' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0
    skip - no WPA/RSN IE
    1: 00:11:50:04:f3:c5 ssid='bergynet' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0
    skip - no WPA/RSN IE
    No suitable AP found.



    Does this mean anything to you guys/gals???? I'm sure this is telling me just what is wrong but I don't speak the lingo. Thanks for any help!!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    I also had a similar problem, the solution that I found was to turn on the ssid broadcast from the AP and also make sure that if MAC filtering is enabled on your AP, then your card is included in that list with the correct Nickname.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5
    Both of those things are done....... And have been since I set up the network. NO JOY...


  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Selecting BSS from priority group 2
    0: 00:06:25:ff:74:06 ssid='linksys' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0
    skip - no WPA/RSN IE
    1: 00:11:50:04:f3:c5 ssid='bergynet' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0
    skip - no WPA/RSN IE
    from your 1st post, this section seems to trouble me. What it is saying is that it finds two networks in range one called linksys and the other called bergynet. i assume the one called bergynet is the one you want to connect to.

    The line wpa_ie_len=0 says that the length of the wpa access code of this network and the linksys network is zero, i.e. there is no access code for either network. Since I find this highly unlikely, i think that it might stem from the incorrect installation of the wpa_supplicant program. One suggestion I have is try not to use the latest version, but go for the earlier version I use the 0.35 version and it works perfectly.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5
    I know the AP works because it can be accessed by the windoze boxes under WPA. Thus the WPA code length isn't zero.
    I built and installed 0.3.9 (I didn't use 0.3.5 because it doesn't appear to support the IPW2200 board that I have in this box......). The previous wpa_supplicant was from an RPM listed as 0.3.8-7 (what ever that is...)
    Anyway the 0.3.9 doesn't see the key either.

    I saw another place that config_crypto_arc4 and config_crypto_crc32 need to be enabled in the kernel. Is that true?

    Any other ideas?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    Quote Originally Posted by gbergeson
    I saw another place that config_crypto_arc4 and config_crypto_crc32 need to be enabled in the kernel. Is that true?
    I have never heard of that before. Another thing you could try is to use the official Fedora online software updater (I think it is called YUM, sorry I've never used fedora) to install the wpa_supplicant.

    Pasted below is my version of the wpa_supplicant.conf file:
    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant  <----- location of the program
    network=&#123;
      ssid="My_SSID"
      psk="My_secret_passphrase"
      key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    &#125;
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •